The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Nov 07, 2001, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member

Exclamation

Okay, so here's what happened at yesterday's game. I'm a rookie and I think I called it incorrectly, but at the time, it seemed like the right thing to do. AFter thinking about it since then, I probably would have done things differently.

Girls Juvenile game (13-14 years old)
A1 is up shooting a bonus 1 and 1. shot is taken, hits the rim. A2 catches the ball and just stands there with it. None of the girls are moving and don't seem to realize that it's now live ball. A2 throws the ball at Lead who is standing OOB at baseline and Lead (another rookie) catches it. Lead drops the ball (inbounds) expecting play to continue. I tweet. Here's the call that I made. SInce none of the teams made and attempt to play the ball, I went to alternating possesion arrow.

But now, in hindsight, here's what I would have done. AFter the ball was thrown by A1 to lead who was OOB, it should have been dead ball, thrown OOB by A1 - B's ball at the baseline.

So, I know I blew the initial call, but I think that my hindsight would be correct. Man, so many rules to this game! Your comments are welcome...

Ren
P.S. It's nice to have a place like this to come and read all of these scenarios. The discussions here are always great. It's never done in a condescending way. We are all trying to become better at something we all love to do.

Old Wed Nov 07, 2001, 09:59pm
Official Forum Member

If the lead was standing OOB, then A2 caused the ball to go OOB. B's ball, spot throw-in.

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Old Wed Nov 07, 2001, 10:58pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Ren, these games (sub varsity, even sub JV) are by far
*the* absolute toughest to work, and girls games are even