![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
A few years ago when I was first starting work BV on somewhat regular basis. 2-man crew and Team B has been applying backcourt pressure on almost every possession. I'm T on the shot and new Lead on the rebound. A1 (big man) gets defensive rebound in middle of the paint and has elbows up, B1 and B2 (guards) apply immediate harassment so I stay put and referee. A1 pivots one way and gets fouled by B1. Apparently he doesn't hear the whistle and pivots back with elbow leading and connects to B2's head. He didn't swing the elbow excessively, it was part of his pivot, but it was definitely intended to keep little hands from slapping at him. If it would have been a live ball I definitely would have had a PC. B2 had heard the whistle and had relaxed and wasn't paying attention to A1's movement. Some here may say I should have had a flagrant T. Some might say I should have had nothing. I went with intentional contact technical. Commissioner was in attendance and came in at halftime and asked about the play. He responded that he was happy with how I handled it and it was what was needed to clean up what had started to become a chippy game.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
By the letter of the two rules, yes. But with the judgement of the situation applied, you could easily come up with either result if you showed the same play to multiple officials.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A1 guarded by B1. A1 makes nice move beats B1 and then as A1 is passing the ball B1 whacks him across the arm. Whistle. Common Foul. A1 guarded by B1. A1 makes what he thinks is a nice move. Whistle. Travelling. A1 goes to pass the ball to the official in front of him and B1, fully aware the play is dead, whacks A1 across the arm.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
I had one last Saturday in a boys JH game. Physical game getting chippy and we had a held ball. A1 took exception to something and swung his elbows in a get off me move. He clipped B1 in the chin and I T'd him up. I thought it sent a clear message we weren't going to let them continue down that path with out consequences and it worked.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
If the ball were live his pivot and contact would have been a PC. No excessive swinging of the elbows. The ball was dead and as I said his movement was definitely in the MO of "beware if you get in my path". Like I said, B2 had relaxed. If B2 had being paying attention I don't think he would have gotten hit.
So if you expect me to be able to justify it by the letter of the rule book, then I possibly would lose the battle in moot court. But in the real world moment I felt alright with my call and so did my the person who gave me the game.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Fri Feb 10, 2012 at 04:40pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Thanks for the replies all! I'm glad I took my partners info & tacked on the T.
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Bang.....bang!!! | JRutledge | Basketball | 28 | Mon Jan 30, 2012 01:18pm |
| Bang-bang-thud obstruction question | Paul L | Softball | 12 | Fri Apr 28, 2006 03:45pm |
| Tips for the Bang Bang plays... | Alameda | Softball | 11 | Tue May 10, 2005 05:43pm |
| Bang Bang Play | RookieDude | Basketball | 11 | Wed Feb 16, 2005 09:40pm |
| Going Out with a Bang | Spaman_29 | Basketball | 15 | Mon Feb 25, 2002 03:09pm |