The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2012, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 20
Accidental Granted Time-out

If you grant a coach a timeout because you "thought" you heard him yell timeout but instead he was yelling "sideout" you have to grant that team the timeout even if the coach does not want it correct? I was asked this by a fellow official but I wanted to clarify.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2012, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Incorrect... if you grant a timeout when you shouldn't have (wrong team) then you allow it. If the official misunderstood, then we resume POI. 5.8.3 Situation E
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2012, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by curtstrouth View Post
If you grant a coach a timeout because you "thought" you heard him yell timeout but instead he was yelling "sideout" you have to grant that team the timeout even if the coach does not want it correct? I was asked this by a fellow official but I wanted to clarify.
No time out ... declare an accidental (incidental) whistle and resume play.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2012, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
No time out ... declare an accidental (incidental) whistle and resume play.
I would ask the coach if he wants a time out, now that the ball is dead. He need not take one.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2012, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I would ask the coach if he wants a time out, now that the ball is dead. He need not take one.
The original post said that the official misunderstood what he heard and that the coach didn't want a time out.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2012, 01:54pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Never Happens . . . More Than Twelve Times a Game

Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
. . . the official misunderstood what he heard . . .
"Side Out! Side Out!"
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2012, 02:11pm
Official Fiveum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eurasia - no, Myasia
Posts: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
"Side Out! Side Out!"
Just as bad - "Five Out! Five Out!" I hear this sometimes, too.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2012, 04:16pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by curtstrouth View Post
If you grant a coach a timeout because you "thought" you heard him yell timeout but instead he was yelling "sideout" you have to grant that team the timeout even if the coach does not want it correct? I was asked this by a fellow official but I wanted to clarify.
Of course not. The coach didn't ask for one, so you can't charge him with one.

If I was coaching and you did that, you'd have to throw me out of the gym before I'd be done with you. So... don't be that ref that issues a TO when none was requested.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2012, 04:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
The original post said that the official misunderstood what he heard and that the coach didn't want a time out.
I understand that.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2012, 04:35pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
No time out ... declare an accidental (incidental) whistle and resume play.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I would ask the coach if he wants a time out, now that the ball is dead. He need not take one.
If it was an IW because the coach never requested a time-out why would you need to ask if he wanted one now?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2012, 05:12pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,239
Side Out ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
5.8.3 Situation E
5.8.3 SITUATION E: A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when: (a) the
Team B head coach requests and is erroneously granted a time-out by an official;
or (b) the Team A head coach is yelling “side out” offensive instructions to his/her
team and the official stops play believing the coach requested a time-out. RULING:
In (a), Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and
granted; once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges
and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams.
Play will resume with a Team A throw-in nearest to where play was stopped. In
(b), an inadvertent whistle has occurred. Team A was not requesting a time-out,
and therefore, should not be granted or charged with one. Play is resumed at the
point of interruption. (4-36-1; 4-36-2a)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2012, 08:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
If it was an IW because the coach never requested a time-out why would you need to ask if he wanted one now?
I dunno, politeness?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batter Granted Time after F1 in Set position JPaco54 Baseball 4 Sun Jun 14, 2009 02:45am
time out granted, or not? don't move Football 11 Mon Sep 19, 2005 02:24pm
accidental 3 man totalnewbie Basketball 6 Fri Nov 26, 2004 01:18am
When is it Granted--time-out som44 Basketball 7 Thu Feb 19, 2004 08:55pm
Timeout Granted or not????? jshock Basketball 3 Thu Jan 13, 2000 03:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1