The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 39
Send a message via Yahoo to habram
Out of Bounds Violation Yes/No

If a Player saves a ball from going out of bounds ,when can the player legally touch the ball again

Also if a player is running down the sideline dribbling the ball and loses it
then accidently goes out of bounds , when can the player legally touch the ball again
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 03:31pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by habram View Post
If a Player saves a ball from going out of bounds ,when can the player legally touch the ball again
When they have legally established themselves in bounds.

Quote:
Originally Posted by habram View Post
Also if a player is running down the sideline dribbling the ball and loses it
then accidently goes out of bounds , when can the player legally touch the ball again
Yes as long as they establish themselves in bounds.

There is no first to touch provisions in basketball.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 03:39pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Good Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by habram View Post
If a Player saves a ball from going out of bounds ,when can the player legally touch the ball again

Also if a player is running down the sideline dribbling the ball and loses it
then accidently goes out of bounds , when can the player legally touch the ball again
First Scenerio: As soon as that player establishes status on the court again, at least one foot touching the floor inbounds, for instance.

Second Scenerio: Sounds like an interrupted dribble (no longer player control), during which the player formerly known as "dribbler" may touch the ball again after establishing status on the court again (Different from the situation in 9-3-1 NOTE).
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 03:39pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by habram View Post
If a Player saves a ball from going out of bounds ,when can the player legally touch the ball again

Also if a player is running down the sideline dribbling the ball and loses it
then accidently goes out of bounds , when can the player legally touch the ball again
Assuming NFHS rules:

A player can legally touch the ball when they're inbounds and nothing touching out of bounds. This is not the NFL where you have to get two feet back in to reestablish oneself.

If a player loses the ball and accidentally goes out of bounds, the player can legally touch the ball as soon as they return inbounds.

If you watch other levels of play, they have different rules about this (well at least the NBA does...not sure about NCAA).
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
First Scenerio: As soon as that player establishes status on the court again, at least one foot touching the floor inbounds, for instance.
... and nothing touching OOB.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 03:44pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Assuming NFHS rules:

If you watch other levels of play, they have different rules about this (well at least the NBA does...not sure about NCAA).
I believe the rule at the NCAA level is exactly the same, except they have a provision for running out of bounds to as an advantage and it is not a violation until they are the first one to get a pass. I am not sure if the rule is the same on both genders, but I will look it up to be sure.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by habram View Post
If a Player saves a ball from going out of bounds ,when can the player legally touch the ball again

Also if a player is running down the sideline dribbling the ball and loses it
then accidently goes out of bounds , when can the player legally touch the ball again
One foot inbounds, nothing out of bounds = legal (is how I think of it).

One scenario to think about that is pretty rare but may happen: Player A had previously legally ended their dribble and somehow fumbled the ball and saves the ball, by throwing the ball to the floor inbounds. Player A then gets both feet back inbounds and is the first to catch the ball.

The referee has to judge whether the save was the start and the catch is the ending of a second dribble, which is of course a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
One foot inbounds, nothing out of bounds = legal (is how I think of it).
Need not be a foot: "something in, nothing out."
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 04:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Need not be a foot: "something in, nothing out."
I'd like to see one hand in and feet in the air, like a nice break dancing move.

But if we want to play semantics, "Nothing in as long as something is not out."

Last edited by Toren; Mon Dec 05, 2011 at 04:07pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 04:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
I'd like to see one hand in and feet in the air, like a nice break dancing move.

But if we want to play semantics, "Nothing in as long as something is not out."
The point is entirely valid and not a semantic issue.

They could easily be on a knee, back, or belly after diving for the lose ball with neither foot touching the floor.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 04:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The point is entirely valid and not a semantic issue.

They could easily be on a knee, back, or belly after diving for the lose ball with neither foot touching the floor.
It is a semantics issue, because they could easily be completely off the floor with nothing in as long as nothing is touching or touched OOB prior to them being in the air.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 05:18pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,423
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
It is a semantics issue, because they could easily be completely off the floor with nothing in as long as nothing is touching or touched OOB prior to them being in the air.
Don't confuse the issue. If the player is completely off the floor, then s/he is inbounds if s/he last touched the court inbounds. Simply being airborne, does not justify your claim that the player has "nothing in".
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 05:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Don't confuse the issue. If the player is completely off the floor, then s/he is inbounds if s/he last touched the court inbounds. Simply being airborne, does not justify your claim that the player has "nothing in".
I understand..."Something in, nothing out" is incomplete. Yet, we all seem to throw it around like it's the end all to the argument. My point is, think of it however you want, I think of the rule as "one foot in, nothing out." It helps me to remember. We all remember it differently.

So whatever helps the person remember that as long as nothing is out, then you are in.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 05:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by habram View Post
If a Player saves a ball from going out of bounds ,when can the player legally touch the ball again

Also if a player is running down the sideline dribbling the ball and loses it
then accidently goes out of bounds , when can the player legally touch the ball again
Read 7-1-1 and the case plays under 7.1.1.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 06:36pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,758
Been There, Called That ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
They could easily be on a knee, back, or belly after diving for the lose ball with neither foot touching the floor.
Ponytail.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
back court violation in bounds question daveg144 Basketball 28 Sat Nov 28, 2009 03:06am
Floor Violation - Running out of bounds kjsref Basketball 14 Mon Jan 12, 2009 09:29pm
NFHS Rules - Out of Bounds Violation Stat-Man Basketball 10 Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:24am
Out of bounds violation BrentD22 Basketball 6 Tue Feb 15, 2005 02:48pm
In bounds violation? kdays78 Basketball 6 Wed Feb 02, 2005 06:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1