The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 11:39pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
Assuming A1 threw the pass from the backcourt into the frontcourt where B1 batted it back to A1 in the backcourt, there is no violation. Team A never had team control in the frontcourt. That one is not controversial...it's easy.



A still never had team control in the frontcourt, so this isn't a violation either the way you've described it. Try again.
Sure they did, TC never ceased, and the ball gained FC status.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 11:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Sure they did, TC never ceased, and the ball gained FC status.
Crap, my bad. I meant player control...I changed it.

Neither are a violation either way.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 06, 2011, 08:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
Crap, my bad. I meant player control...I changed it.

Neither are a violation either way.
Also, and easier, and how the rule has always worked: A was not last to touch before the ball returned to the BC.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 06, 2011, 01:43pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
Crap, my bad. I meant player control...I changed it.

Neither are a violation either way.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Also, and easier, and how the rule has always worked: A was not last to touch before the ball returned to the BC.
PC in the front court was not required until they jacked up the rule this year.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 06, 2011, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
NCAA Casebook on this play

I don't know what the NFHS ruling is, but here is the 2011 NCAA Casebook play:

Pg 95

A.R. 229. The ball is at the disposal of Team A for a throw-in. A1 attempts
to throw the inbounds pass to A2, who is located in his/her front
court near the division line.

(1) A1’s pass is deflected by B1. A2 leaves the playing court in
his/her front court and while airborne, controls the ball, and then
lands with one or both feet in the back court.

(2) A1’s throw-in pass is deflected by B1. The ball bounces intoTeam A’s front court. While the ball is bouncing in Team A’s front
court, it is deflected into Team A’s back court, where A3 retrieves
it.


(3) A1’s throw-in pass is deflected by A2, who fumbles it into
the back court. A2 then goes into the back court and recovers the
fumble.


RULING:

(1) Violation. When B1 deflected A1’s inbounds pass, his/
her legal touching caused the throw-in to end. A1, having established
front-court status when he/she left Team A’s front court, gained player
and team control in the air
. When A1 lands with one or both feet in his/
her back court, he/she has committed a back-court violation. The exception
to the back-court rules are only applicable for the player who made
the initial touch on the ball.
(Rule 4-68.4 and 4-3)


(2) Legal. This is not a back-court violation since neither player nor
team control had been established in the front court
.
(Rule 9-12.1)


(3) Legal. This is not a back-court violation since neither player nor
team control had been established in the front court
.
(Rule 9-12.1 and 4-3)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 06, 2011, 03:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,198
Quote:
I don't know what the NFHS ruling is, but here is the 2011 NCAA Casebook play:
same rulings in NFHS.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 06, 2011, 03:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
I go by a simple saying.

"First to touch, last to touch"

If your team is the first to touch the ball in the BC and it was the last to touch in the FC then its a BC violation.

This does not hold true for Inbounds as PLAYER and TEAM control must be met for a BC violation to be called.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt violation BBrules Basketball 40 Mon Jan 10, 2011 08:03pm
Backcourt violation? cmhjordan23 Basketball 6 Wed Jan 05, 2011 04:05pm
Backcourt Violation??? electronics_project Basketball 4 Tue Dec 09, 2003 09:57am
Backcourt violation? mplagrow Basketball 3 Sat Jan 25, 2003 05:08pm
Backcourt violation Stevan Basketball 2 Thu Nov 16, 2000 09:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1