The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2000, 09:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 3
Question

A player is in control of the ball (and therefore there is team control) when he is holding or dribbling the ball. But how do you rule when A2 "controls" a one-handed rebound after a missed try by A1, and one-hands a pass to A3 who first touches the ball in A's backcourt?
__________________
Stevan Davis
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2000, 09:25am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb judgment

Quote:
Originally posted by Stevan
A player is in control of the ball (and therefore there is team control) when he is holding or dribbling the ball. But how do you rule when A2 "controls" a one-handed rebound after a missed try by A1, and one-hands a pass to A3 who first touches the ball in A's backcourt?
Stevan,
The way I do it is that I adjudge whether he batted the ball (no Control), or actually grabbed the ball one-handed and held/controlled the pass.
In your case it sounds like a back court violation.
Big hands on that fella!
mick


Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2000, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
Unless it is obvious to the 18th row that he had control, I will not call back court violation.
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1