NCAA Casebook on this play
I don't know what the NFHS ruling is, but here is the 2011 NCAA Casebook play:
Pg 95
A.R. 229. The ball is at the disposal of Team A for a throw-in. A1 attempts
to throw the inbounds pass to A2, who is located in his/her front
court near the division line.
(1) A1’s pass is deflected by B1. A2 leaves the playing court in
his/her front court and while airborne, controls the ball, and then
lands with one or both feet in the back court.
(2) A1’s throw-in pass is deflected by B1. The ball bounces intoTeam A’s front court. While the ball is bouncing in Team A’s front
court, it is deflected into Team A’s back court, where A3 retrieves
it.
(3) A1’s throw-in pass is deflected by A2, who fumbles it into
the back court. A2 then goes into the back court and recovers the
fumble.
RULING:
(1) Violation. When B1 deflected A1’s inbounds pass, his/
her legal touching caused the throw-in to end. A1, having established
front-court status when he/she left Team A’s front court, gained player
and team control in the air. When A1 lands with one or both feet in his/
her back court, he/she has committed a back-court violation. The exception
to the back-court rules are only applicable for the player who made
the initial touch on the ball.
(Rule 4-68.4 and 4-3)
(2) Legal. This is not a back-court violation since neither player nor
team control had been established in the front court.
(Rule 9-12.1)
(3) Legal. This is not a back-court violation since neither player nor
team control had been established in the front court.
(Rule 9-12.1 and 4-3)
|