The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 08, 2011, 09:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 115
Backcourt violation

A1 brings the ball up from his backcourt and about 4 feet from the division line he launches a baseball type throw toward a teammate moving across the baseline toward the basket. The ball bangs off the backboard about a foot from the rim and low, bounces back, makes one bounce in the frontcourt and back into the hands of the kid that threw it, still in the backcourt. Backcourt violation? Since the ball never touched a player in the frontcourt, does 9-9-2 apply?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 08, 2011, 09:34pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,635
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
C'mon, take a Shot at it Yourself

Criteria for backcourt violation:

1. Team control
2. Ball gains front court status
3. Team in control is the last to touch the ball before it enters the backcourt.
4. Team in control is the first to touch the ball after it gains backcourt status

What say you?
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 08, 2011, 10:28pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Do you know for sure he wasn't shooting the ball?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 08, 2011, 11:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
No, it's a throw-in violation.
Never had one of those before when the ball was already inbounds.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 08, 2011, 11:22pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Never had one of those before when the ball was already inbounds.
Oops, mis-read the OP.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 08, 2011, 11:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Sounds like a shot to me.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 09, 2011, 08:59am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,519
59 Seconds On "Good" Officiating ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Do you know for sure he wasn't shooting the ball?
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Sounds like a shot to me.
According to the 60 Seconds On Officiaiting website this is always considered a try form goal:

"Throwing the ball and hitting the backboard of the TEAM IN POSSESSION is always considered a TRY for goal. Even though the attempt (a soft toss or a hard carom off the glass) does not look like a legitimate try for goal".

You could look it up:

Login

You could also look up the location of Jimmy Hoffa's grave on this website. I'm sure that it will be as accurate as some of their other information. Now try to "look it up" for a NFHS, or IAABO citation? Good luck.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Jan 09, 2011 at 09:18am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 09, 2011, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,002
One of the difficulties is in reconciling the "BC" interp with the "not a double dribble or travelling" interp.

You can reconcile these by determining that it's always a try (as 6-seconds does), or by adding an element of "intent" (and I'm not sure that's quite the right word). If the player intends for the ball to hit the backboard (or basket), then consider it to be a try; if they don't then judge it to be a really bad pass.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 09, 2011, 02:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 115
I appreciate the replies...

Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar View Post
Criteria for backcourt violation:

1. Team control
2. Ball gains front court status
3. Team in control is the last to touch the ball before it enters the backcourt.
4. Team in control is the first to touch the ball after it gains backcourt status

What say you?
This is what why I called a BC violation. It really rather stunned me at the time because, I guess, it was so unexpected and happened so quickly. I probably wouldn't have questioned the call but for the hit against the backboard.
Like Snaqwells and BktBallRef mentioned, was this a try? That never entered my mind at the time and looking back I am still certain it was a failed pass. I'm not sure I could have enunciated this to anyone had they questioned the call without really thinking it through. Once I was able to get back into my rule book, I saw that 9-9-2 might also apply since the ball did not touch or hit anyone before ending up in the hands of the player who threw it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 09, 2011, 02:38pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Sounds like a shot to me.
+1

Play on
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 09, 2011, 03:52pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBrules View Post
This is what why I called a BC violation. It really rather stunned me at the time because, I guess, it was so unexpected and happened so quickly. I probably wouldn't have questioned the call but for the hit against the backboard.
Like Snaqwells and BktBallRef mentioned, was this a try? That never entered my mind at the time and looking back I am still certain it was a failed pass. I'm not sure I could have enunciated this to anyone had they questioned the call without really thinking it through. Once I was able to get back into my rule book, I saw that 9-9-2 might also apply since the ball did not touch or hit anyone before ending up in the hands of the player who threw it.
This all comes down to whether it's a try. As bob alludes to, it's the same concept for calling a double dribble or travel.

I can tell you, for me, if it hits the backboard, I'm considering it a try. I have no idea what's in the shooter's head.

If it's a try, then team control ceases as soon as he releases it, therefore he's allowed to recover the ball in the BC.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 09, 2011, 04:09pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I can tell you, for me, if it hits the backboard, I'm considering it a try. I have no idea what's in the shooter's head.

If it's a try, then team control ceases as soon as he releases it, therefore he's allowed to recover the ball in the BC.
A la case book play 9.5(a)....
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 09, 2011, 04:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
If it's a try when A1 throws the ball against the backboard, runs, catches and dunks it, (and it is) then it's a try in this case, too. Always.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 09, 2011, 05:25pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,635
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Situational?

I might be inclined to call it a shot if it's near the end of a quarter or half. But, if A1 randomly throws a long ball from behind the division line with 2:34 to go in the 2nd quarter down by 7, I am not inclined to call it a shot.

JMO
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 09, 2011, 05:29pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar View Post
I might be inclined to call it a shot if it's near the end of a quarter or half. But, if A1 randomly throws a long ball from behind the division line with 2:34 to go in the 2nd quarter down by 7, I am not inclined to call it a shot.

JMO
Case book play 9.5(a)?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt violation? ChuckElias Basketball 63 Tue Oct 10, 2006 01:36pm
backcourt violation bbcowboy Basketball 8 Tue May 09, 2006 07:25am
Backcourt violation? VaLadyRef Basketball 11 Wed Jan 19, 2005 04:36pm
backcourt violation? sc/nc ref Basketball 6 Wed Jan 05, 2005 08:35pm
BACKCOURT VIOLATION? OFISHE8 Basketball 10 Thu Dec 23, 2004 03:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1