The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Team A, who has team and player control, throws a pass in their frontcourt that is tipped by Team B THEN tipped by Team A and flies into the backcourt (all in the same flight), then Team A retrieves in the backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 03:12pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by newish ref View Post
Team A, who has team and player control, throws a pass in their frontcourt that is tipped by Team B THEN tipped by Team A and flies into the backcourt (all in the same flight), then Team A retrieves in the backcourt.
Violation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by newish ref View Post
Team A, who has team and player control, throws a pass in their frontcourt that is tipped by Team B THEN tipped by Team A and flies into the backcourt (all in the same flight), then Team A retrieves in the backcourt.
Violation, even though 98% of coaches think they get a pass (and will helpfully make the "tipped ball" signal for you) if B touched the ball somewhere in there.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 03:14pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by newish ref View Post
Team A, who has team and player control, throws a pass in their frontcourt that is tipped by Team B THEN tipped by Team A and flies into the backcourt (all in the same flight), then Team A retrieves in the backcourt.
Backcourt violation. Criteria a backcourt violation:

1. Team control (and player control first if coming from a throw-in). Check
2. Ball achieves a frontcourt position. Check
3. Team in control is the last to touch the ball before it gains a backcourt position. Check
4. Team in control is the first to touch the ball after it gained a backcourt status. Check
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 04:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Backcourt violation. Criteria a backcourt violation:

1. Team control (and player control first if coming from a throw-in). Check
2. Ball achieves a frontcourt position. Check
3. Team in control is the last to touch the ball before it gains a backcourt position. Check
4. Team in control is the first to touch the ball after it gained a backcourt status. Check
This is very important to realize. If the OP's scenario occurred during a throw-in, then no BC violation.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 05:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
This is very important to realize. If the OP's scenario occurred during a throw-in, then no BC violation.
Don't confuse the issue with team control for a throw-in. It has nothing to do with backcourt violations.

9-9-1 requires team control be established inbounds. Talking about throw-in team control only screws things up, when it has nothing to do with it.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 11:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Is anyone going to address these controversial situations:

1. where A1 is near the division line and makes a pass that B1 (while standing in A's front court) bats the ball back towards A1 so that A1 catches the ball in the air while he is still in the back court.

or 2. where A1 is in the back court near the division line, makes a pass cross court towards A2 who is also in the back court, but B1 (who is standing in the frontcourt) deflects the ball, but A2 still catches the ball in the air.

What's the correct call in these two situations. I don't want to join in the argument, I just like to start one and sit back and watch !!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 11:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
Is anyone going to address these controversial situations:

1. where A1 is near the division line and makes a pass that B1 (while standing in A's front court) bats the ball back towards A1 so that A1 catches the ball in the air while he is still in the back court.
Assuming A1 threw the pass from the backcourt into the frontcourt where B1 batted it back to A1 in the backcourt, there is no violation. Team A never had player control in the frontcourt. That one is not controversial...it's easy.

Quote:
or 2. where A1 is in the back court near the division line, makes a pass cross court towards A2 who is also in the back court, but B1 (who is standing in the frontcourt) deflects the ball, but A2 still catches the ball in the air.

What's the correct call in these two situations. I don't want to join in the argument, I just like to start one and sit back and watch !!!
A still never had player control in the frontcourt, so this isn't a violation either the way you've described it. Try again.

Last edited by zm1283; Mon Dec 05, 2011 at 11:46pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 11:39pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
Assuming A1 threw the pass from the backcourt into the frontcourt where B1 batted it back to A1 in the backcourt, there is no violation. Team A never had team control in the frontcourt. That one is not controversial...it's easy.



A still never had team control in the frontcourt, so this isn't a violation either the way you've described it. Try again.
Sure they did, TC never ceased, and the ball gained FC status.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 06, 2011, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
Is anyone going to address these controversial situations:

1. where A1 is near the division line and makes a pass that B1 (while standing in A's front court) bats the ball back towards A1 so that A1 catches the ball in the air while he is still in the back court.

or 2. where A1 is in the back court near the division line, makes a pass cross court towards A2 who is also in the back court, but B1 (who is standing in the frontcourt) deflects the ball, but A2 still catches the ball in the air.

What's the correct call in these two situations. I don't want to join in the argument, I just like to start one and sit back and watch !!!
I think FED has both of these as violations. Most here disagree with the interp -- it came out about 2 years ago.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 06, 2011, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Bob is right on both counts according to NFHS interpretations.

1. Both are BC violations because A1 when he touched the ball batted back from the FC to BC (ie ball had front court status), and A2 when he caught the pass that was deflected from the FC to BC, was the last to touch the ball after it had FC status, and the first to touch it in the BC. The reasoning behind these being BC violations is that A1 simultaneously caused the ball to be in the BC after FC and was the first to touch in the BC. Much like the ball hitting a player out of bounds--- he is the one who caused the ball to be out of bounds and thus the OOB violation on him.

2. Bob is also right that most of us disagree with this interp and reasoning as well. But it is what it is.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 06, 2011, 04:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
Is anyone going to address these controversial situations:

1. where A1 is near the division line and makes a pass that B1 (while standing in A's front court) bats the ball back towards A1 so that A1 catches the ball in the air while he is still in the back court.

or 2. where A1 is in the back court near the division line, makes a pass cross court towards A2 who is also in the back court, but B1 (who is standing in the frontcourt) deflects the ball, but A2 still catches the ball in the air.

What's the correct call in these two situations. I don't want to join in the argument, I just like to start one and sit back and watch !!!
See 9.9.1 Sit C.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by newish ref View Post
Team A, who has team and player control, throws a pass in their frontcourt that is tipped by Team B THEN tipped by Team A and flies into the backcourt (all in the same flight), then Team A retrieves in the backcourt.
Just like everyone else has pointed out, this would be a violation. Team A has control, Team A caused the ball to go into the backcourt, Team A is the first to touch the ball.

Now if Team B had been the last to touch the ball, then Team A is okay to retrieve the ball without violation.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
Just like everyone else has pointed out, this would be a violation. Team A has control, Team A caused the ball to go into the backcourt, Team A is the first to touch the ball.
Careful! That's not why.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 04:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
Just like everyone else has pointed out, this would be a violation. Team A has control, Team A caused the ball to go into the backcourt, Team A is the first to touch the ball.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Careful! That's not why.
Now I'm confused. Why?
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt violation BBrules Basketball 40 Mon Jan 10, 2011 08:03pm
Backcourt violation? cmhjordan23 Basketball 6 Wed Jan 05, 2011 04:05pm
Backcourt Violation??? electronics_project Basketball 4 Tue Dec 09, 2003 09:57am
Backcourt violation? mplagrow Basketball 3 Sat Jan 25, 2003 05:08pm
Backcourt violation Stevan Basketball 2 Thu Nov 16, 2000 09:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1