The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 04:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill View Post
We had a varsity game the other day (NFHS rules). We got called for a backcourt violation because our throw-in went from the frontcourt endline, tipped one of our players in the frontcourt, where we retrieved it in the backcourt.

I was told by the ref essentially, that with the new team control rule on throw-ins, all the requirements for a backcourt violation were met.
But they weren't met: the ball was not yet in player control in the frontcourt (9-9-1, 4-13-1). No violation.

The player throwing in the ball does not have player control in the frontcourt if he or she is out of bounds.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 04:27pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill View Post
We had a varsity game the other day (NFHS rules). We got called for a backcourt violation because our throw-in went from the frontcourt endline, tipped one of our players in the frontcourt, where we retrieved it in the backcourt.

I was told by the ref essentially, that with the new team control rule on throw-ins, all the requirements for a backcourt violation were met.

I agreed with him, that the new rules as written, seem to say he is correct. But, can I tell him next time, that Snaqwells said the committee said they intended it to only apply to fouls? Will he believe me? Who is correct?
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
But they weren't met: the ball was not yet in player control in the frontcourt (9-9-1, 4-13-1). No violation.

The player throwing in the ball does not have player control in the frontcourt if he or she is out of bounds.
mbyron's rule citation covers this play as to why it is not a violation. The new wording in 9-9-1 also now unequivocally makes null and void an old interp involving a pass from A1 from the BC to the FC that is tipped by B1 in the FC and then caught on the fly by A1 in the BC.

What the new wording did do was make it legal for A1 in the BC to throw a pass that is tipped by A2 in the FC and then retrieved by A1 in the BC. This should have, however, should have been rectified in 9-9-2 but wording of that article is pretty bad. This apparently is when you need to break out the PowerPoint slide.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Mon Dec 05, 2011 at 04:33pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 04:07pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill View Post
We had a varsity game the other day (NFHS rules). We got called for a backcourt violation because our throw-in went from the frontcourt endline, tipped one of our players in the frontcourt, where we retrieved it in the backcourt.

I was told by the ref essentially, that with the new team control rule on throw-ins, all the requirements for a backcourt violation were met.

I agreed with him, that the new rules as written, seem to say he is correct. But, can I tell him next time, that Snaqwells said the committee said they intended it to only apply to fouls? Will he believe me? Who is correct?
And this is the problem with the change. Smart officials who actually thought through the ramifications of the rule changes but haven't, for whatever reason, seen the powerpoint.

Besides, doesn't the new rule require PC inbounds before it can be called? Book's in my bag, and I'm getting ready to head to a game.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 299
So, I should tell the ref, that although there is now Team Control on a throw-in, there was no Player Control in the frontcourt, which is now required for a backcourt violation. And, that is a new rule, too, and is located under the section on backcourt violations???
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 04:28pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
NFHS Basketball Interpretations (2011-2012)

SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt.
RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 04:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
NFHS Basketball Interpretations (2011-2012)

SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt.
RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)
Thank you. That's perfect.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 08, 2011, 03:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty View Post
Now that there is team control during a throw in - shouldn't that mean that a throw in from the front court to the back court is a violation? One that is tipped in the front court and is reganed in the back court should be a violation as well - correct?

We had an association meeting Sunday and dicussed fouls during the throw in but not this.

Thoughts?
Regardless of the fact that the rules, as actually written, do say exactly that, the comment that were published with the change indicate that ONLY fouls are affected by the change. They should have written the rule a LOT better such that it would clearly only relate to fouls but they didn't.

What they did was muddy the water such that some editor, in 10-15 years, will read the rules, not being aware of the comments on the change, and declare we've been calling it wrong.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 09, 2011, 06:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,331
You have to have player control to have a BC violation.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 09, 2011, 07:17pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,502
Player Control ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
You have to have player control to have a BC violation.
So when A1, dribbling in the frontcourt, picks up his dribble in his frontcourt, holds the ball in his frontcourt, and then throws an errant pass to A2, who is standing with both feet in his backcourt, and then the ball hits A2 in the knee, and bounces away, you're not calling backcourt because A2 doesn't have player control?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 09, 2011, 07:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
So when A1, dribbling in the frontcourt, picks up his dribble in his frontcourt, holds the ball in his frontcourt, and then throws an errant pass to A2, who is standing with both feet in his backcourt, and then the ball hits A2 in the knee, and bounces away, you're not calling backcourt because A2 doesn't have player control?
Yes. That's exactly what he meant. [/sarcasm]
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 09, 2011, 08:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
You have to have player control to have a BC violation.
What you really meant is that before a BC violation is possible, there must have been player control inbounds.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 09, 2011, 10:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
What you really meant is that before a BC violation is possible, there must have been player control inbounds.
Correct.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 08:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
What you really meant is that before a BC violation is possible, there must have been player control inbounds.
Yep. And, didn't the rule used to be that player control, by definition, was inbounds?

I wish the NFHS (and NCAA for that matter) would include the deletions in the rules book -- with a strikeout -- to make it more clear what has changed.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2011, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yep. And, didn't the rule used to be that player control, by definition, was inbounds?

I wish the NFHS (and NCAA for that matter) would include the deletions in the rules book -- with a strikeout -- to make it more clear what has changed.
Yes, but the wording of the backcourt rule as changed to reflect the team control foul on a throwin situation, it implies that their must be player control in the backcourt to have a violation when all that is required is that there be team control inbounds...which starts when a player has control (inbounds) but continues even when no player has control.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got me thinking UmpTTS43 Baseball 32 Thu Aug 14, 2008 02:58pm
What was I thinking???? Andy Softball 11 Tue Jul 22, 2008 06:34am
What were they thinking?? NCASAUmp Softball 2 Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:34pm
Thinking... brandan89 Baseball 2 Tue Mar 01, 2005 09:15am
Thinking this through Dudly Basketball 4 Tue Aug 31, 2004 04:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1