The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 22, 2011, 06:07pm
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 633
Was Da Rookie Correct?

Girls HS Fall League today...

A15 has the ball on baseline ready to throw in..B5 reaches over the plane and hits the ball while A15 has possession.

MY CALL: Technical Foul on B5...A15 awarded 2 shots plus A gets the ball at Division line opposite table.

My partner a 10 year vet OVER RULES me and puts the ball in play on baseline where the technical occurred.


Was the Rookie correct??
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 22, 2011, 06:17pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
I'm guessing you mean he overruled you on just the subsequent inbound spot. If that's the case, he was wrong. What explanation, if any, did he give for placing the ball back there instead of where it should have gone?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 22, 2011, 06:19pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,643
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Case Play 10.3.10.D says the Rookie is correct.

Incidentally, when do you graduate from being "The Rookie?"
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 22, 2011, 06:55pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
For Fed, any (single) technical foul will result in the throw-in opposite table at the division line for a throw-in...no?

Good call, Rook!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 22, 2011, 07:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 511
who shoots the T

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Girls HS Fall League today...

A15 has the ball on baseline ready to throw in..B5 reaches over the plane and hits the ball while A15 has possession.

MY CALL: Technical Foul on B5...A15 awarded 2 shots plus A gets the ball at Division line opposite table.

My partner a 10 year vet OVER RULES me and puts the ball in play on baseline where the technical occurred.


Was the Rookie correct??
Who awarded A15 the FT's? You or did the coach say that's who he/she wanted to shoot?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 22, 2011, 07:31pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
MY CALL: Technical Foul on B5...A15 awarded 2 shots plus A gets the ball at Division line opposite table.
Half right. The free throws may be attempted by any team member(s) of Team A. They do not have to be attempted by A15, as someone else alluded to. Now, if B5 had contacted A15 while trying to hit the ball, then you would have an intentional personal foul, and the free throws would be awarded to A15 (unless s/he had been injured by the foul).

The ensuing throw-in is indeed administered at the division line, as someone else pointed out.

Quote:
My partner a 10 year vet OVER RULES me and puts the ball in play on baseline where the technical occurred.
Is your partner an NCAA official? He may have gotten confused with the NCAA-M ruleset, in which this would be a Class B technical foul. After the technical free throws, play would be resumed at the POI.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 22, 2011, 08:00pm
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Half right. The free throws may be attempted by any team member(s) of Team A. They do not have to be attempted by A15, as someone else alluded to. Now, if B5 had contacted A15 while trying to hit the ball, then you would have an intentional personal foul, and the free throws would be awarded to A15 (unless s/he had been injured by the foul).

The ensuing throw-in is indeed administered at the division line, as someone else pointed out.

Is your partner an NCAA official? He may have gotten confused with the NCAA-M ruleset, in which this would be a Class B technical foul. After the technical free throws, play would be resumed at the POI.
No only HS Ref...He mentioned the Intentional Foul that you laid out in your response. Under that type of situation, the ball still put in play at division line?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 22, 2011, 08:02pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,985
The Rookie was correct.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 22, 2011, 08:24pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
No only HS Ref...He mentioned the Intentional Foul that you laid out in your response. Under that type of situation, the ball still put in play at division line?
No. Then the inbound would be at the spot of the foul. And note that under the new rule, A15's hands could have been over the court when her hands were hit and it would now be an intentional foul.

I mentioned that just in case you haven't read the 50 page thread on the new rules.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 23, 2011, 11:20am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,377
Bonus Question ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
For Fed, any (single) technical foul will result in the throw-in opposite table at the division line for a throw-in.
How about a double technical foul?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 23, 2011, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Detroit Metro
Posts: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
How about a double technical foul?
ooo ooooo

Pick me pick me!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 23, 2011, 11:45am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,377
Welcome Back, Welcome Back, Welcome Back ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsqrddgd909 View Post
ooo ooooo, Pick me, pick me!
We now know what dsqrddgd909 looks like:

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 23, 2011, 02:59pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,386
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
No only HS Ref...He mentioned the Intentional Foul that you laid out in your response. Under that type of situation, the ball still put in play at division line?
It couldn't have been an intentional foul unless he contacted the player, not the ball. You were correct.
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 23, 2011, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Detroit Metro
Posts: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
We now know what dsqrddgd909 looks like:

Picture a combination of Steve Martin and Andy Sipowicz from NYPD Blue.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timing Error - To Correct or Not to Correct cford Basketball 15 Sat Feb 21, 2009 09:49am
New/Old Rookie big Volleyball 5 Sat Apr 08, 2006 03:28pm
The Rookie Adam Basketball 4 Tue Jan 11, 2005 03:07pm
Rookie jcurtin Basketball 3 Mon Dec 13, 2004 05:00pm
i'm a rookie minnesota ref Basketball 2 Mon Jan 31, 2000 08:23am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1