The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 16, 2003, 09:51pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Blackhawk357
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
All you have to remember is that if you want to legally correct this error,the error has to be recognized during the period up to and including the first dead ball after the clock has started.Anything that happens up to the time that you recognize the error(points scored,time consumed,etc)isn't nullified.If there was a change in possession on the missed FT,you go with the POI after you shoot the 2nd FT.If there was no change in possession,you line 'em up for the 2nd FT.
I understand all of this (if this is the answer you are referring to). But the question is, when does the error (and change of possession) occur?

If the error is handing the shooter the ball and saying "1&1", then it's easy, COP. But if the error occurs when A1 is not given the second shot, has the COP occurred after the error or before?

Since there is no team control on a try, is the rebound by B1 really a COP if the error is not giving the A1 the second shot?
The correctible error occurs when you fail to award the 2nd merited FT.That's rule 2-10-1(a).A "change of possession" has absolutely nothing to with the fact that the error occurred,or what happens until you recognize the correctible error.The error is correctible only if you discover it during the time limits that I detailed above.That's rule 2-10-2.To take care of what happens between the time that the correctible error occurs and the error is actually discovered,you apply rule 2-10-5. The "COP" that you are talking about only comes into play when the non-FT shooting team gets possession of the ball anytime before the error is legally discovered.If there is a "COP",you go back and shoot the missed FT,and then go the POI(point of interruption)-ie-whoever had the ball when you discovered the error is gonna get it back.If there is no "COP" before the error is discovered,then you just line 'em up again and shoot the missed shot.That's rule 2-10-6.

OK now?



[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 16th, 2003 at 09:16 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1