View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 16, 2003, 10:33pm
Blackhawk357 Blackhawk357 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 189
Here is my original post:

OK, I think we got this one figured out.
Here is another question:

Turn the situation around..... You tell the players it's 1&1 when it should be 2. If B rebounds the ball, is that considered a change of possession for the purpose of deciding which correction procedure you will use in the correction?

(i.e. Stop play, clear lane, shoot, resume play vs. line 'um up and shoot)

What if A rebounds? ~ In both, error is recognized within time restrictions. I'll give my opinion after some discussion.

Blackhawk



Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Blackhawk357
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
All you have to remember is that if you want to legally correct this error,the error has to be recognized during the period up to and including the first dead ball after the clock has started.Anything that happens up to the time that you recognize the error(points scored,time consumed,etc)isn't nullified.If there was a change in possession on the missed FT,you go with the POI after you shoot the 2nd FT.If there was no change in possession,you line 'em up for the 2nd FT.
I understand all of this (if this is the answer you are referring to). But the question is, when does the error (and change of possession) occur?

If the error is handing the shooter the ball and saying "1&1", then it's easy, COP. But if the error occurs when A1 is not given the second shot, has the COP occurred after the error or before?

Since there is no team control on a try, is the rebound by B1 really a COP if the error is not giving the A1 the second shot?
The correctible error occurs when you fail to award the 2nd merited FT.That's rule 2-10-1(a).A "change of possession" has absolutely nothing to with the fact that the error occurred,or what happens until you recognize the correctible error.The error is correctible only if you discover it during the time limits that I detailed above.That's rule 2-10-2.To take care of what happens between the time that the correctible error occurs and the error is discovered,you apply rule 2-10-5. (((The "COP" that you are talking bout only comes into play when the non-FT shooting team gets possession of the ball anytime before the error is legally discovered.))) If there is a "COP',you go back and shoot the missed Ft,and then go the POI(point of interruption)-ie-whoever had the ball when you discovered the error is gonna get it back.If there is no "COP" before the error is discovered,then you just line 'em up again and shoot the missed shot.That's rule 2-10-6.

OK now?

And after all that, which we really all should know, the answer is in (((triple parentheses))).

It was a question brought up in a tournament last weekend. Basically "Did a COP happen?", and the correct answer is yes. As JR (finally) said "Anytime the Non-FT shooting team has possession" you go to the POI correction procedure.

The game officials lined 'em up under the new rule, thinking a COP had not occurred, and did not understand my explaination as to why they were wrong. (Maybe for the same reason I had such a hard time explaining the question here.)

Blackhawk
__________________
There's only one thing that makes the adrenalin run as high
as a packed house and a good ball game ~ Big Mule Deer!
www.HuntingNanselRanch.com
Reply With Quote