![]() |
|
|
|||
Is this a Backcourt Violation?
A-1 inbounds the ball to A-2 who is heavily contested by B-2 near the division line. A-2, in the FC, tips the ball away from the coverage and the ball goes into the BC. A-2 is the first to grab the ball. Is this BC?
I have read and reread 9.9.3 and am still unclear. Is this considered to be part of the "Throw-in exception"?
__________________
Let me win. But if I cannot win, let me be brave in my attempt. -- Special Olympics Athlete Oath |
|
|||
Where the throw-in originates doesn't matter. The ball has neither FC or BC status during the throw-in.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
After a made basket, A-1 inbounds the ball to A-2 who is heavily contested by B-2 near the division line. A-2, in the FC, tips the ball away from the coverage and the ball goes into the BC. A-2 is the first to grab the ball.
Is that a controlled tip by A2? Or can no tip be ruled possesion like a tapped rebound that goes into the b/c? I cannot think of a time where I've seen a b/c endline throw-in go into the f/c & tipped into the b/c by the offense.
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
I'm sorry if I sound like I'm picking nits, or if I'm repeating myself, BUT. . .
There is no such thing as a controlled tip or tap, by rule. A "controlled tip" has no bearing on any play in determining control. Player control is established by HOLDING or DRIBBLING a LIVE ball INBOUNDS. That's it. That's the only way. So a tip or tap, even if intentionally directed, does not establish control. Ever. If you rule that A2 caught the ball before directing into the backcourt, then that's a different story and there is player control. If the new rule is written to match the NCAA rule, with the same exceptions, then the play in the original post is legal. If they simply add "and during a throw-in" to the definition of team control, then the play in question is a violation. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
You inserted after a made basket but I did not state that. The ball was side out in the FC. How this played out was that the trail official made a back court call. Although I should have been focused more in the FC it was one of those plays where I bounced the ball to the inbounder and was chopping in the clock. Therefore I saw the play unfold. I quickly called for a conference, in my mind to overturn this BC call. However my partner determined the tip was intentional and therefore established possession and control. Like someone else in this thread stated he was of the mind set that this type of tip somehow established control? I tried to explain that a tip is not control and that he was incorrect in that thinking. He then replied that even so he can't then be the 1st person to touch it in the BC. He was so persistent that he made the right call that I questioned the latter point(1st to touch after tip) and for nothing other than moving the game along agreed. So was this BC?
__________________
Let me win. But if I cannot win, let me be brave in my attempt. -- Special Olympics Athlete Oath |
|
||||
Quote:
Early on, I was known to talk a partner into a wrong call occasionally.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
The ball was side out near division line but like stated here that doesn't matter.
__________________
Let me win. But if I cannot win, let me be brave in my attempt. -- Special Olympics Athlete Oath |
|
|||
Quote:
1) TC 2) Ball in FC 3) A last to touch before ball goes to BC 4) A first to touch after ball goes to BC Did we have all of those under THE CURRENT rules? How about under the NEW rules? Do we need an "exception?" |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Backcourt Violation Help | CDurham | Basketball | 33 | Thu Feb 11, 2010 04:38pm |
Backcourt Violation?? | WhistlesAndStripes | Basketball | 6 | Sat Feb 06, 2010 05:20pm |
Is this a Backcourt Violation? | normrefct | Basketball | 7 | Fri Jan 27, 2006 11:32pm |
Backcourt violation? | mrt1963 | Basketball | 7 | Mon Dec 08, 2003 04:53pm |
Backcourt violation | Stevan | Basketball | 2 | Thu Nov 16, 2000 09:28am |