The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Arrow

Hi All. I would appreciate your opinions on this Scenario:

A1 in froncourt's pass deflects off A2's leg and heads towards backcourt. Before reaching backcourt B1 touches ball but does not gain control. Ball then goes into backcourt and A1 secures control.

Is this a backcourt violation?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 03:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,458
Quote:
Originally posted by normrefct
Hi All. I would appreciate your opinions on this Scenario:

A1 in froncourt's pass deflects off A2's leg and heads towards backcourt. Before reaching backcourt B1 touches ball but does not gain control. Ball then goes into backcourt and A1 secures control.

Is this a backcourt violation?
No. A was not the last to touch the ball before it went to the BC.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 04:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Parma Ohio
Posts: 93
I think this is probably one of the biggest thread starters on this forum backcourt violation or not. One of the most misunderstood parts of the game in my opinion for new or newer refs and coaches.
__________________
"If you ever stop to say 'What's going to happen to me if I make this call', you might as well take your whistle and shove it because that's all the respect you're giving it."-Earl Strom
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 05:10pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally posted by normrefct
Hi All. I would appreciate your opinions on this Scenario:

A1 in froncourt's pass deflects off A2's leg and heads towards backcourt. Before reaching backcourt B1 touches ball but does not gain control. Ball then goes into backcourt and A1 secures control.

Is this a backcourt violation?
Welcome to the forum, normrefct.
There must be team control (Team A had it)
The ball must have front court location. (Ball was in front court)
The ball must be last touched in the front court by the team in control. (The ball was touched by an opponent)
The ball must be first touched in the back court by the team in control. (A1 was first to touch in the back court)

All four requirements were not met. Thus, no violation should be called.

mick



Had to be edited, cuz Lotto made me do it.

[Edited by mick on Jan 27th, 2006 at 10:36 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 10:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by mick

The ball must be last touched in the front court by the team in control. (The ball was touched by an opponent)

The ball must be first touched in the back court by the team in control. (A1 was first to touch in the back court)

Actually, these are not quite accurate. The ball does not have to be touched in the front court at all for there to be a backcourt violation. For example, A1, holding the ball in the backcourt, throws a bounce pass to A2. The ball bounces in the frontcourt before A2, who is also standing in the backcourt, catches it. This is a backcourt violation.

A similar scenario demonstrates that the ball never has to be touched in the backcourt for there to be a backcourt violation.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 10:34pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by mick

The ball must be last touched in the front court by the team in control. (The ball was touched by an opponent)

The ball must be first touched in the back court by the team in control. (A1 was first to touch in the back court)

Actually, these are not quite accurate. The ball does not have to be touched in the front court at all for there to be a backcourt violation. For example, A1, holding the ball in the backcourt, throws a bounce pass to A2. The ball bounces in the frontcourt before A2, who is also standing in the backcourt, catches it. This is a backcourt violation.

A similar scenario demonstrates that the ball never has to be touched in the backcourt for there to be a backcourt violation.

Thanks, Lotto.
You are certainly correct.

For all cases it should prolly read:

There must be team control (Team A had it)
The ball must have front court location. (Ball was in front court)
The ball, in the front court, must be last touched by the team in control. (The ball was touched by an opponent)

The ball, in the back court, must be first touched by the team in control. (A1 was first to touch in the back court)

All four requirements were not met. Thus, no violation should be called.

Does that work?
mick

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 11:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,458
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
You are certainly correct.

For all cases it should prolly read:

There must be team control (Team A had it)
The ball must have front court location. (Ball was in front court)
The ball, in the front court, must be last touched by the team in control. (The ball was touched by an opponent)

The ball, in the back court, must be first touched by the team in control. (A1 was first to touch in the back court)

All four requirements were not met. Thus, no violation should be called.

Does that work?
mick

That's not right either, Mick. The ball needn't be touched in teh FC, and the ball needn't be touched in teh BC.

The requirements are:

TC
Ball in FC
Team A last to touch before ball goes to BC
Team A first to touch after ball goes to BC
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2006, 11:32pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
You are certainly correct.

For all cases it should prolly read:

There must be team control (Team A had it)
The ball must have front court location. (Ball was in front court)
The ball, in the front court, must be last touched by the team in control. (The ball was touched by an opponent)

The ball, in the back court, must be first touched by the team in control. (A1 was first to touch in the back court)

All four requirements were not met. Thus, no violation should be called.

Does that work?
mick

That's not right either, Mick. The ball needn't be touched in teh FC, and the ball needn't be touched in teh BC.

The requirements are:

TC
Ball in FC
Team A last to touch before ball goes to BC
Team A first to touch after ball goes to BC
I thought I said that.
I quit.
I surrender.
mick
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1