The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 26, 2002, 07:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally posted by RookieDude

Very well answered and explained, bob jenkins...and I would have "guessed" answer B also.(Player control)
But, per the NFHS Case book...10.6.3 SITUATION D...the exact wording is "charging by A1".
This seems to me to be an obvious "player control" foul, and as bob jenkins stated, that is the signal used at the table...so I am wondering why the Case book uses the word "charging". Hmmmmmmmmm?

Dude
P.S. At least the book didn't say "offensive foul"...
Well, you can't "player control." In order for a foul to be a player control foul, it needs to be a foul first. Hell, you could have a blocking foul on A1 which would be PC, but he blocked.

In regards to the catch-land-crash (or catch-air-crash) situation - control is defined as holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. While airborne, you are inbounds (assuming A2 did not jump from OOB) until you touch something that is OOB. Therefore, you have control once you catch the ball in the air - player control foul upon landing and crashing.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1