View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 26, 2002, 05:56pm
RookieDude RookieDude is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by RookieDude
QUESTION:

A1 is running toward A's goal but is looking back to receive a pass. B1 takes a position in the path of A1 while A1 is 10 feet away from B1...A1 receives the ball and before taking a step contacts B1.
Since the position of B1 is legal when A1 has the ball, the contact is ________?

a. Block by B1

b. Player Control by A1

c. Charging by A1

Which of the above answers "best" describes the situation per NFHS rules? a, b, or c?

Dude
B had legal position whether A had received the ball or not, so A is out the window.

Either B or C could be correct:

"Charging" is a foul by a player with or without the ball.

"PC" is a foul by a player with the ball, but can be charging or holding, or pushing, or illegal use of hands, or ...

I'd guess that the answer desired is B, since that's the signal used at the table.
Very well answered and explained, bob jenkins...and I would have "guessed" answer B also.(Player control)
But, per the NFHS Case book...10.6.3 SITUATION D...the exact wording is "charging by A1".
This seems to me to be an obvious "player control" foul, and as bob jenkins stated, that is the signal used at the table...so I am wondering why the Case book uses the word "charging". Hmmmmmmmmm?

Dude
P.S. At least the book didn't say "offensive foul"...
Reply With Quote