View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 27, 2002, 12:45pm
eroe39 eroe39 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 90
Yep, unfortunately it does. Even if the player is there for the last 10 seconds it is still a block. Now if the player catches a pass inside the LDB (i.e. post up area) he does not have to be given time and distance. Also, if a player is airbourne as someone mentioned earlier we have a rule for that as well. If a player is airbourne to catch a pass outside the LDB he must given room to land and then change direction. If a player is airbourne to catch a pass inside the LDB he must given room to land. I asked someone high up the reasoning for this rule and I was told that they don't want players doing cheap little tricks to draw fouls. Meaning that if a weakside defender saw a lob post entry pass coming into the center they did not want him running over there and drawing a charge on him when the center didn't see him and had no chance to avoid contact. They want that defender to play defense, not to try to trick the offensive player and draw an offensive foul by getting to the spot where he needed to land first. Also, the big reason for this rule I was told was for outlet passes after a defensive rebound. The Boston Celtics of the 60's used to always have their guards run up to where they saw the outlet pass coming for the sole purpose to draw a cheap offensive foul. They had no purpose of playing defense. And mainly for this two reasons the rule was written in the NBA. Now I asked about the play where the guy is there for ten seconds and I was told that the rule wasn't perfect and there is some situations that are unfair. Again, I actually prefer the high school and college interpretation but above is the reasoning for the pro rule, and I'll have to admit their reasoning has some merit.
__________________
eli roe
Reply With Quote