![]() |
|
|
|||
Got it. It just said "if it's excessive."
Any guidelines/ideas on what you're looking for to determine if it's just a "hard foul" or it qualifies as "excessive?" |
|
|||
Quote:
Yes, B1 was playing the ball, but he made no attempt to not go through airborne A1. That's contact that must be curtailed/discouraged.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Quote:
1. Causing excessive, nonflagrant contact with an opponent while playing the ball; 2. Contact that is not a legitimate attempt to play the ball or player, specifically designed to stop or keep the clock from starting; 3. Pushing or holding a player from behind to prevent a score;
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Texas v Arizona game - 5 second call
So I am clearly a Texas fan. The question I have is on the 5-second call at the end of the game?
After a timeout, Texas is inbounding the ball and at about 4.5 seconds, the inbounder goes to call a timeout. The ref, who has just started his fifth arm swing, stops his count and immediately calls a five-second violation. The TNT announcer said after the game it was the right call because you can't call a timeout after four seconds. Maybe he said after the ref starts his fifth arm swing. In any event, sounds strange to me. Can somebody help me understand? I'm not bitter, just curious. Obviously NCAA rules. Thanks in advance. |
|
|||
They are wrong. There is no rule that states a time out can not be called when a count has reached four.
I personally thought I heard timeout a little bit after the fourth swing. The official did call the violation before his fifth swing. He was maybe halfway into it. Mechanics wise, I thought it was a poor job.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. Last edited by APG; Sun Mar 20, 2011 at 08:14pm. |
|
|||
Rule 5
Section 12. Timeouts Not Granted Art. 1. No timeouts shall be granted: a. To the opponents of the throw-in team after the throw-in starts. b. During an interrupted dribble. c. To a player or coach when an airborne player’s momentum is carrying him/her out of bounds or into the backcourt. d. Unless there is player control by the requesting team. Exception: Rule 5-12.1.c. e. Until after the jump ball that begins the game and the conditions as described in Rule 5-10 are in effect. That's it...nothing about not granting one after a certain point in a count.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
What I have to wonder is if they asked John Adams before spouting that one off. I know I've seen him on the networks for controversial plays. I'd have to venture he wasn't approached before they made that misstatement because there was a potential foul at the end of this game and they were confused about it. Contact happened after the lights went off, but it took them a while to figure that out.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
I'd like to get to the bottom of this as well, because i'd never heard of rule until it was called and seth davis (always the voice of reason
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Not applicable at all in the modern game.
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city |
|
|||
Misty Water Colored Memories ...
Change of status.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Just to pile on...I heard Will Perdue calling the North Carolina game on radio today. First he accused an official who, by the radio description, sold a blocking foul call of making it about himself. Then when there was a close OOB call, said he thought they could look at the monitor to determine who hit it out of bounds.
He was quickly corrected. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
2011 NCAA Tournament Officials (Master Thread) | big jake | Basketball | 229 | Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:37pm |
DP/Flex Redux | Skahtboi | Softball | 19 | Mon Apr 07, 2008 06:56pm |
Backcourt redux | assignmentmaker | Basketball | 86 | Tue Jan 25, 2005 11:50pm |