![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
Syracuse/Marquette
Anybody see the BC violation on Syracuse at the end. In slow motion, it looked to me like he never had control until his foot was off the line. Real time I would have probably made the same call. Lots of bang bang calls in the tourny. Doing a good job.
|
|
|||
|
You're right but for the wrong reason. Under NCAA rules, there IS team control during a throw-in.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
Art. 8. After a jump ball or during a throw-in, the player in his/her front
court, who makes the initial touch on the ball while both feet are off the playing court, may be the first to secure control of the ball and land with one or both feet in the back court. It makes no difference if the first foot down was in the front court or back court. Section 4. based on this looks like they made the wrong call |
|
|||
|
The backcourt call was wrong. The play was a sideline thowin. The player jumped in the air and caught the ball near midcourt. He landed on one foot in the front court and his secondfoot landed on the division line. He then picked up his first/pivot foot and stepped in the front and turned his second foot into the front court. There was no backcourt because the player caught the ball in the air and landed with his first foot in the front court and his second foot in the backcourt which he is allowed to do. The violation should have been for travel when he lifted his pivot foot and then put that foot back on to the court.
|
|
|||
|
If this was NFHS and I think the same for college: On the throw in, the Syracuse player jumped from his front court caught the ball in the air and landed first on his right foot on the division line (which is in the back court). His left foot touched down in the front court. In my opinion this was legal. Although, without dribbling, somehow the Syracuse player’s right foot or pivot foot ended up in the front court. This is when a traveling call should have been made but the official called over and back. The Syracuse player did not commit a back court violation because during the throw in there is exception to the back court rule. This is a great play for discussion!
|
|
|||
|
Sure is: 2011 Tournament Discussion Redux
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| 2011 NCAA Tournament Officials (Master Thread) | big jake | Basketball | 229 | Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:37pm |
| DP/Flex Redux | Skahtboi | Softball | 19 | Mon Apr 07, 2008 06:56pm |
| Backcourt redux | assignmentmaker | Basketball | 86 | Tue Jan 25, 2005 11:50pm |