The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 38 votes, 4.95 average. Display Modes
  #226 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 23, 2011, 05:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Judtech View Post
In a conversation with an official who WILL be working this weekend. I think they made some good points:
If we are going by an officials "judgement" on obvious timing situations (not 3 sec) then why have a visible count? Why not just count to ourselves? No one is agruing that our visible count is precise. What it DOES do is show a visible representation of what our 'timing judgement' is by swinging our arms. Some do it faster then others, but that is THEIR judgement. It also gives an empirical record of how much we have counted, ie. the video.
This seems like a good insight. If you're going to swing, you have to assume players or coaches are relying on the swing. Otherwise, why do it?

The place where it seems to me most weird is after a made basket where there's a shot clock. What if the swinging isn't commensurate with the clock? If an official swings 10 when the clock shows 26, can he call a violation? Or not call on where the clock shows 24 because he hadn't swung 10? If they are going to swing, it should matter. And the swing seems to me to objectify a judgment based decision.

Anyway, on the Syracuse backcourt, has anyone other than Adams said anything? I still have some hope that this was actually a missed judgment call. Is it possible that he thought Jardine's right heel touched the backcourt line after the step (in other words, he didn't call the violation on the foot originally touching the line, but on the mistaken view that it touched the line after he'd established back in the front court)? It was very very close to the heel touching. If it was a rules goof, to me, for all the discussion of the tournament so far, that's the one that is most surprising. In fact in my memory it's almost unprecedented -- I just can't remember another rules misapplication that basic at that level. I think there was a hockey official in the NHL this year who called a delay of game for the goalkeeper playing the puck outside of the "trapazoid" who forgot that the penalty can not be called if the player's skates are in the crease. But other than those two, I just don't remember a call like it, if it wasn't a judgment call, which makes me think maybe he knew the rule but thought he saw something that didn't happen.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 NCAA Tournament Officials (Master Thread) big jake Basketball 229 Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:37pm
DP/Flex Redux Skahtboi Softball 19 Mon Apr 07, 2008 06:56pm
Backcourt redux assignmentmaker Basketball 86 Tue Jan 25, 2005 11:50pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1