The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2011, 02:21pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by YooperRef View Post
Technical foul on SJ for crossing the throw-in plane and touching the ball that has been placed at the disposal of the thrower during a throw-in.
9-2-10 penalty 3 says the technical is assessed "if an opponent(s) of the thrower reaches through the boundary-line plane and touches or dislodges the ball while in possession of the thrower", not just at the disposal of the thrower.

Which brings up a related question. On a spot throw-in, the official bounces the ball to A1 who is standing OOB for the throw-in. B1 reaches over the line and hits the ball before it gets to A1. What's your call? Is it therefore, according to the rule I quoted, just a DOG warning?
__________________
Yom HaShoah

Last edited by Mark Padgett; Mon Feb 21, 2011 at 02:23pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2011, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Upper Michigan
Posts: 41
Upon Further Review....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
9-2-10 penalty 3 says the technical is assessed "if an opponent(s) of the thrower reaches through the boundary-line plane and touches or dislodges the ball while in possession of the thrower", not just at the disposal of the thrower.

Which brings up a related question. On a spot throw-in, the official bounces the ball to A1 who is standing OOB for the throw-in. B1 reaches over the line and hits the ball before it gets to A1. What's your call? Is it therefore, according to the rule I quoted, just a DOG warning?

"At the disposal of" doesn't equal "possession" so I would agree, DOG it is in the OP.

Since A1 does not yet have possession it would still be a DOG warning in the second scenario unless I judged B1 to be acting in an unsportsmanlike manner, maybe reacting to what he considered to be a bad call and slapping the ball away to show his disgust. Though it would have to be pretty obvious for me to go down that road.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interesting Situation tarheelcoach Baseball 19 Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:35am
Interesting situation JM_00 Basketball 7 Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:59am
Interesting Situation PIAA REF Basketball 7 Tue Dec 05, 2006 09:13pm
Interesting situation Orangeguy06 Wrestling 2 Tue Feb 21, 2006 12:45pm
Interesting Situation 2 Rar Basketball 14 Mon Feb 21, 2005 03:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1