View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2011, 03:24pm
YooperRef YooperRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Upper Michigan
Posts: 41
Upon Further Review....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
9-2-10 penalty 3 says the technical is assessed "if an opponent(s) of the thrower reaches through the boundary-line plane and touches or dislodges the ball while in possession of the thrower", not just at the disposal of the thrower.

Which brings up a related question. On a spot throw-in, the official bounces the ball to A1 who is standing OOB for the throw-in. B1 reaches over the line and hits the ball before it gets to A1. What's your call? Is it therefore, according to the rule I quoted, just a DOG warning?

"At the disposal of" doesn't equal "possession" so I would agree, DOG it is in the OP.

Since A1 does not yet have possession it would still be a DOG warning in the second scenario unless I judged B1 to be acting in an unsportsmanlike manner, maybe reacting to what he considered to be a bad call and slapping the ball away to show his disgust. Though it would have to be pretty obvious for me to go down that road.
Reply With Quote