The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 17, 2011, 12:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Unhappy Here we go again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant View Post
In tonights UConn-Georgetown game, Kemba Walker dribbles the ball down the lane and banks it off the backboard and grabs carom and scores.

On his post game interview he said he did this deliberately, so it was not a try for goal. To me this was a travel (same as passing the ball to yourself after picking up your dribble).

Opinions?
You might want to read the traveling rule, as well.

NCAA 4-70-1
Traveling occurs when a player holding the ball moves a foot or both feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits described in this rule.


Throwing the ball off your own backboard is not holding the ball.

And yes, he can dribble again.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 17, 2011, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 30
Question You might want to read the double dribble rule, as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
You might want to read the traveling rule, as well.

NCAA 4-70-1
Traveling occurs when a player holding the ball moves a foot or both feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits described in this rule.


Throwing the ball off your own backboard is not holding the ball.

And yes, he can dribble again.
He can what?

NCAA 9.7.1:
A player shall not dribble a second time after the player’s first dribble has ended, unless the player subsequently loses control because of:
a. A try for field goal.
b. A bat by an opponent.
c. A pass or fumble that has then touched or been touched by another player.

Unless you're ruling this a try for goal (I don't think so), then starting another dribble would not be legal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 17, 2011, 01:42pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Four-Oh View Post
He can what?

NCAA 9.7.1:
A player shall not dribble a second time after the player’s first dribble has ended, unless the player subsequently loses control because of:
a. A try for field goal.
b. A bat by an opponent.
c. A pass or fumble that has then touched or been touched by another player.

Unless you're ruling this a try for goal (I don't think so), then starting another dribble would not be legal.
The only reason the play is legal to begin with is because it's deemed to be a try. Otherwise it would be a travel per case play 4.44.3D (which used to be an illegal dribble), since there is no other provision allowing a team to throw the ball off his equipment and avoid a violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 17, 2011, 01:45pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Four-Oh View Post
He can what?

NCAA 9.7.1:
A player shall not dribble a second time after the player’s first dribble has ended, unless the player subsequently loses control because of:
a. A try for field goal.
b. A bat by an opponent.
c. A pass or fumble that has then touched or been touched by another player.

Unless you're ruling this a try for goal (I don't think so), then starting another dribble would not be legal.
No NCAA official (nor should any high school official) would deem this not to be a try. BBR is right...he can dribble after he throws the ball off his own backboard.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 17, 2011, 05:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Four-Oh View Post
He can what?

NCAA 9.7.1:
A player shall not dribble a second time after the player’s first dribble has ended, unless the player subsequently loses control because of:
a. A try for field goal.
b. A bat by an opponent.
c. A pass or fumble that has then touched or been touched by another player.

Unless you're ruling this a try for goal (I don't think so), then starting another dribble would not be legal.
Then, you would be wrong.

For the life of me, I cannot understand why people fight this rule so much.

IT'S LEGAL TO THROW THE BALL OFF YOUR OWN BACKBOARD.

IT'S LEGAL TO CATCH IT.

IT'S LEGAL TO THEN SHOOT IT, DRIBBLE IT, OR PASS IT.

END OF STORY.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 17, 2011, 06:14pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Then, you would be wrong.

For the life of me, I cannot understand why people fight this rule so much.

IT'S LEGAL TO THROW THE BALL OFF YOUR OWN BACKBOARD.

IT'S LEGAL TO CATCH IT.

IT'S LEGAL TO THEN SHOOT IT, DRIBBLE IT, OR PASS IT.

END OF STORY.
My guess is it has to do something with the play happening more often in the NBA then any other level.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Public Address announcer/ Play by play Terrapins Fan Basketball 34 Sun Dec 13, 2009 12:20pm
Force play or time play? Rita C Baseball 44 Sat Dec 05, 2009 10:12am
Force play or tag play dsbrooks1014 Baseball 3 Tue Apr 21, 2009 09:09pm
Play-by-Play Commentary FC IC Basketball 2 Sat Dec 21, 2002 12:28am
CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? David Clausi Basketball 6 Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1