View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 17, 2011, 01:42pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Four-Oh View Post
He can what?

NCAA 9.7.1:
A player shall not dribble a second time after the player’s first dribble has ended, unless the player subsequently loses control because of:
a. A try for field goal.
b. A bat by an opponent.
c. A pass or fumble that has then touched or been touched by another player.

Unless you're ruling this a try for goal (I don't think so), then starting another dribble would not be legal.
The only reason the play is legal to begin with is because it's deemed to be a try. Otherwise it would be a travel per case play 4.44.3D (which used to be an illegal dribble), since there is no other provision allowing a team to throw the ball off his equipment and avoid a violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote