The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Kemba Walker Bank Play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/62645-kemba-walker-bank-play.html)

LeeBallanfant Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:08am

Kemba Walker Bank Play
 
In tonights UConn-Georgetown game, Kemba Walker dribbles the ball down the lane and banks it off the backboard and grabs carom and scores.

On his post game interview he said he did this deliberately, so it was not a try for goal. To me this was a travel (same as passing the ball to yourself after picking up your dribble).

Opinions?

APG Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:12am

It is always legal to throw the ball off of one's backboard and retrieve it. No need to try and determine try or not. This is ALWAYS legal at all levels of play.

VaTerp Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant (Post 731054)
In tonights UConn-Georgetown game, Kemba Walker dribbles the ball down the lane and banks it off the backboard and grabs carom and scores.

On his post game interview he said he did this deliberately, so it was not a try for goal. To me this was a travel (same as passing the ball to yourself after picking up your dribble).

Opinions?

Does not matter what "it is to you." By rule this is legal.

I believe it's casebook 9.5

APG Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:15am

Pertinent NCAA case book play:

A.R. 122. A1 intercepts a pass and dribbles toward A’s basket for a breakaway layup. Near A’s free throw line, A1 legally stops and ends his or her dribble. A1 throws the ball against A’s backboard and follows the throw. While airborne, A1 rebounds the ball off the backboard and dunks.
RULING: The play shall be legal since the backboard is equipment located in A1’s half of the playing court, which A1 is entitled to use. (Rule 4-70.5)

APG Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant (Post 731054)
In tonights UConn-Georgetown game, Kemba Walker dribbles the ball down the lane and banks it off the backboard and grabs carom and scores.

On his post game interview he said he did this deliberately, so it was not a try for goal. To me this was a travel (same as passing the ball to yourself after picking up your dribble).

Opinions?

Also, by rule and definition, it is impossible to pass the ball to oneself.

LeeBallanfant Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 731057)
Pertinent NCAA case book play:

A.R. 122. A1 intercepts a pass and dribbles toward A’s basket for a breakaway layup. Near A’s free throw line, A1 legally stops and ends his or her dribble. A1 throws the ball against A’s backboard and follows the throw. While airborne, A1 rebounds the ball off the backboard and dunks.
RULING: The play shall be legal since the backboard is equipment located in A1’s half of the playing court, which A1 is entitled to use. (Rule 4-70.5)

Thanks for that. A further question, instead of shooting would he able to dribble again after throwing off backbaord?

BktBallRef Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:23am

Here we go again.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant (Post 731054)
In tonights UConn-Georgetown game, Kemba Walker dribbles the ball down the lane and banks it off the backboard and grabs carom and scores.

On his post game interview he said he did this deliberately, so it was not a try for goal. To me this was a travel (same as passing the ball to yourself after picking up your dribble).

Opinions?

You might want to read the traveling rule, as well.

NCAA 4-70-1
Traveling occurs when a player holding the ball moves a foot or both feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits described in this rule.


Throwing the ball off your own backboard is not holding the ball.

And yes, he can dribble again.

APG Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant (Post 731060)
Thanks for that. A further question, instead of shooting would he able to dribble again after throwing off backbaord?

Sure...play on. This rule is the same at all levels FYI.

BillyMac Thu Feb 17, 2011 07:30am

I Was Once A Sceptic ...
 
9.5 SITUATION A: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the
ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an
official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard
is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and
(c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official
constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it
strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)

Nothing about a shot, or a try, in the caseplay, but it has to be a shot, or a try, to allow A1 to legally catch the ball.

mbyron Thu Feb 17, 2011 08:37am

He just wants to be Kobe and Lebron. :shrug:

As others observe, legal at all levels, provided it's the player's team's backboard. On the opponent's backboard you could have an illegal dribble.

Adam Thu Feb 17, 2011 08:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 731132)
9.5 SITUATION A: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the
ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an
official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard
is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and
(c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official
constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it
strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)

Nothing about a shot, or a try, in the caseplay, but it has to be a shot, or a try, to allow A1 to legally catch the ball.

"Sceptic?" I think they have medication for that, billy.

Four-Oh Thu Feb 17, 2011 01:21pm

You might want to read the double dribble rule, as well.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 731061)
You might want to read the traveling rule, as well.

NCAA 4-70-1
Traveling occurs when a player holding the ball moves a foot or both feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits described in this rule.


Throwing the ball off your own backboard is not holding the ball.

And yes, he can dribble again.

He can what?

NCAA 9.7.1:
A player shall not dribble a second time after the player’s first dribble has ended, unless the player subsequently loses control because of:
a. A try for field goal.
b. A bat by an opponent.
c. A pass or fumble that has then touched or been touched by another player.

Unless you're ruling this a try for goal (I don't think so), then starting another dribble would not be legal.

Adam Thu Feb 17, 2011 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Four-Oh (Post 731286)
He can what?

NCAA 9.7.1:
A player shall not dribble a second time after the player’s first dribble has ended, unless the player subsequently loses control because of:
a. A try for field goal.
b. A bat by an opponent.
c. A pass or fumble that has then touched or been touched by another player.

Unless you're ruling this a try for goal (I don't think so), then starting another dribble would not be legal.

The only reason the play is legal to begin with is because it's deemed to be a try. Otherwise it would be a travel per case play 4.44.3D (which used to be an illegal dribble), since there is no other provision allowing a team to throw the ball off his equipment and avoid a violation.

APG Thu Feb 17, 2011 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Four-Oh (Post 731286)
He can what?

NCAA 9.7.1:
A player shall not dribble a second time after the player’s first dribble has ended, unless the player subsequently loses control because of:
a. A try for field goal.
b. A bat by an opponent.
c. A pass or fumble that has then touched or been touched by another player.

Unless you're ruling this a try for goal (I don't think so), then starting another dribble would not be legal.

No NCAA official (nor should any high school official) would deem this not to be a try. BBR is right...he can dribble after he throws the ball off his own backboard.

26 Year Gap Thu Feb 17, 2011 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 731180)
"Sceptic?" I think they have medication for that, billy.

And the preventative medication is, well, you know, the first rule of officiating.:cool:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1