The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2011, 09:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 33
Send a message via Skype™ to Butterfly182310
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pantherdreams View Post
What do you do when a partner kicks a call? Not misses a call or sees it differently, if by rule he gets it wrong...
...But as a partner in this or any situation where I know my partner gets the call wrong by the book, but won't even discuss changing it: what do you do?
This is one issue where knowing who the "R" is on the game becomes important. We certainly don't want to have a protracted on-court discussion, but we also want to get the call correct. If you're the "R", it's your responsibility to "hear" your partner's interpretation and make a decision. If you're not the "R", it's your responsibility to state your interpretation as accurately and concisely as possible, then stand back and allow the "R" to make, and sell, his/her decision. In either case, it's "game on" and don't look back till you get into the locker room.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2011, 10:12pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Butterfly182310 View Post
This is one issue where knowing who the "R" is on the game becomes important. We certainly don't want to have a protracted on-court discussion, but we also want to get the call correct. If you're the "R", it's your responsibility to "hear" your partner's interpretation and make a decision. If you're not the "R", it's your responsibility to state your interpretation as accurately and concisely as possible, then stand back and allow the "R" to make, and sell, his/her decision. In either case, it's "game on" and don't look back till you get into the locker room.
Where in the book is the R given permission to overrule a called violation?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2011, 10:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 33
Send a message via Skype™ to Butterfly182310
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Where in the book is the R given permission to overrule a called violation?
Nowhere in the rule book is anyone given permission to overrule a partners' call, but go back to the original scenario of this discussion thread. Both officials made a call. One verbally to everyone to continue playing, no violation had occurred. One whistling a violation. Two officials with obviously two different interpretations, and everyone knows it. A discussion between the officials has to take place. The "R", as crew chief, has the tie breaking responsibility resting on his/her shoulders. Regardless which way it goes, one of the calls is being "overruled". In this case, the calling official overruled the "play on" official.

If only one official makes a call, and the other official knows it's incorrect, the most the other official can do, regardless who is "R" or "U", is bring the error to the calling official's attention, and allow him/her to correct the call if they choose to do so. That is not the case in the context of this discussion. Someone has to be in charge when there are obvious conflicting interpretations between officials.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 12:05am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Butterfly182310 View Post
One verbally to everyone to continue playing, no violation had occurred. One whistling a violation. Two officials with obviously two different interpretations, and everyone knows it. A discussion between the officials has to take place. The "R", as crew chief, has the tie breaking responsibility resting on his/her shoulders. Regardless which way it goes, one of the calls is being "overruled". In this case, the calling official overruled the "play on" official.

"Play on" is not a call. No matter how wrong it may be, the whistle wins every time in this "tie."
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 08:18am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
"Play on" is not a call. No matter how wrong it may be, the whistle wins every time in this "tie."
Yep.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 08:09am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Butterfly182310 View Post
Nowhere in the rule book is anyone given permission to overrule a partners' call, but go back to the original scenario of this discussion thread. Both officials made a call. One verbally to everyone to continue playing, no violation had occurred. One whistling a violation. Two officials with obviously two different interpretations, and everyone knows it. A discussion between the officials has to take place. The "R", as crew chief, has the tie breaking responsibility resting on his/her shoulders. Regardless which way it goes, one of the calls is being "overruled". In this case, the calling official overruled the "play on" official.
Show me. Reading 2-5, I don't see anything about tie-breaking authority; unless there is a goal involved.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2011, 06:32am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Butterfly182310 View Post
This is one issue where knowing who the "R" is on the game becomes important. We certainly don't want to have a protracted on-court discussion, but we also want to get the call correct. If you're the "R", it's your responsibility to "hear" your partner's interpretation and make a decision. If you're not the "R", it's your responsibility to state your interpretation as accurately and concisely as possible, then stand back and allow the "R" to make, and sell, his/her decision. In either case, it's "game on" and don't look back till you get into the locker room.
Oh my.......

That recommendation of yours goes directly against the rules. The R has never had the power to set aside a call made by another official.

Time to put in some serious rulebook reading time methinks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yikes..... Canned Heat Football 17 Sat Oct 30, 2010 06:13pm
Yikes - twice in one day Mark Padgett Basketball 11 Mon Feb 22, 2010 07:38pm
TV game ..........yikes fullor30 Basketball 15 Fri Jan 18, 2008 09:03pm
Yikes.. now what? oatmealqueen Softball 23 Sun Jun 06, 2004 08:16pm
Yikes - you make the call! Mark Padgett Basketball 9 Tue Jul 23, 2002 02:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1