The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 26, 2011, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WI
Posts: 825
Another Injury stoppage scenario

Last night GV. Team B splits starters w/bench players and are rotating squads every 4 minutes or so. One group has 3 players: 6'3", 6'1", 6' that just tower middle. A1 shoots and B1 gets ball. B1 holds ball with arms straight up and pivots. She lowers arm to begin dribble. As she does this A1 dives in towards her and bangs into B1 shoulder and backs off like she hit hot stove.

B1 pushes ball and passes on FB. After pass, A1 walks over to her bench area and covers face with hands. I can see no blood. Hands covering face. B continues on FB and B2 goes in for lay-up. It's missed but the 3 towers (remember the towers) are taking turns tapping the ball back the basket. A1 still holding face and coach IRATE! He wants me to stop play. I don't see that A1 is hurt all that badly. Still no blood. Partner and I let play continue until finally A3 taps ball in. Throughout this time the ball was never grasped by anyone after the initial lay-up attempt. After bucket, we whistle for injury. Partner goes down to deal with coach as we have had a history.

A1's lip was cut on braces. No blood on uniform, no blood on floor - just inside her lip. Coach threatening to sue, yada, yada, yada. We start clock to replace and game goes on. BTW, at this point in game A is down 43 - 15. A couple other varsity refs in crowd were talking with us after the game and said while they believed we handled it according to Hoyle - perhaps we could have whistled the injury after the initial missed lay-up due to the score. Partner and I disagreed as no one ever had control of ball. What say you to this scenario and other refs thoughts?
__________________
When I want your opinion - I'll give it to you!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 26, 2011, 09:13am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by chartrusepengui View Post
... Coach threatening to sue, yada, yada, yada. We start clock to replace and game goes on...
Just interested. Sue you for what? You didn't endanger B1 as she was on the sideline away from all the action.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 26, 2011, 09:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
I think you probably should have killed it as soon as the ball was released on the first try. The ball doesn't have to be in anyone's possession for you to kill it. If it goes in, B get the ball to inbound. If not, you go to the arrow. Either way you've given A their play.

That said, I also don't have a real problem with what you did as you in no way endangered the apparently injured player.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 26, 2011, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WI
Posts: 825
I'm not worried about being "sued" - nothing there for that. I believe I would have stopped play had someone actually grasped the ball but since A1 in no danger at all and no blood - I decided that the play had not finished.
__________________
When I want your opinion - I'll give it to you!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 26, 2011, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Earth- For Now
Posts: 872
I would have handled it exactly the same way.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 26, 2011, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Rule 5-8-2 note kinda breaks it down of when to stop the play. Judegment call as always.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 26, 2011, 12:16pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by chartrusepengui View Post
I don't see that A1 is hurt all that badly.
Can't call what you don't see.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 26, 2011, 12:52pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Can't call what you don't see.
He saw she was hurt, but didn't know how badly. That's different than not knowing she was hurt at all.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clock Stoppage rngrck Basketball 3 Wed Nov 28, 2007 02:51am
stoppage of the clock jeffb Football 51 Fri Sep 10, 2004 02:24pm
Contact lense stoppage Buckley11 Basketball 70 Sun Jan 18, 2004 09:20pm
Injury Stoppage SMEngmann Basketball 12 Sun Jan 11, 2004 12:08pm
Clock Stoppage Husker John Football 6 Thu Jan 02, 2003 07:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1