![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
This is different than the NBA rule where a team has 8 seconds flat to advance the ball. There are a few situations where the count is reset but assuming those don't happen, 8 is all you get.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
If what you said was true (that 34 was on the clock after the timeout, and subsequently a 10 second violation was called at 25), then either both officials had a brain fart (though there's no reason for the C to call a violation here unless it's absolutely obvious), or both officials had a fast count. I'm banking on the first one.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
D1 officials tend to watch the shot clock to determine the backcourt counts...that is why there was (at least as you described) a double whistle with T and C...
(just to cover myself and avoid an argument based on semantics...note I said "D1 officials tend to"...I did not say ALL or MOST)...I just can't deal w/ a silly discussion forum debate on Friday... ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Also, in this game, saw a rare violation in first half when the thrower-in handed the ball to his teammate. Covering official was on it. |
|
|||
IMO, the C should only be in assistance if the T requests it. The C shouldn't be calling a 10-sec violation.
For example: if an inbound pass by A1 is deflected by B1 and a scramble for the ball lasts about 3 seconds, the shot and game will start simultaneously. A2 picks up the ball with 32 seconds on the shot-clock; the T starts his 10-second count. With 25 seconds showing on the shot-clock and the ball still in the BC, the C (assuming he's now a hero with a whistle) calls a 10-sec violation when the T only has 7 secs on his 10-sec count. Big blunder by the C. A ten second count starts when an in-bound player and his team is in control of the ball. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Backcourt violation - 3 second violation | Shades of Gray | Basketball | 15 | Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:38pm |
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? | Nevadaref | Basketball | 47 | Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm |
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation | hardwdref | Basketball | 3 | Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm |
10 second violation? | johnfox | Basketball | 2 | Sun Jan 27, 2002 03:54pm |
A Violation??? | Smoke | Basketball | 8 | Sat Jan 26, 2002 02:27pm |