The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   10-second violation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59972-10-second-violation.html)

tjones1 Thu Dec 02, 2010 07:16pm

10-second violation
 
I'm pretty sure I just saw a double whistle on a 10-second violation.

I will admit that I am a little under the weather and not feeling well.

Arizona St/Baylor

stiffler3492 Thu Dec 02, 2010 07:25pm

Your eyes didn't fool you. Both the C and T whistled. I was coming to post on this same subject, but with a different question.

Obviously the rule set is NCAA-M.

Team A inbounds the ball just after a made basket. One second ticks off the shot clock before Team A is granted a time out. When they come back from time out, 34 seconds is still showing on the shot clock.

When the shot clock gets down to 25 (this is according to the TV graphics), the officials whistle a 10 second violation.

Is it the rule in NCAAM that the 10 second count resumes from where it left off coming out of a timeout? Or was this a TV graphics mix up?

The officials got together for a second before they gave it to Team B to inbound, but maybe that was the T telling the C to back off.

APG Thu Dec 02, 2010 08:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 704865)
Your eyes didn't fool you. Both the C and T whistled. I was coming to post on this same subject, but with a different question.

Obviously the rule set is NCAA-M.

Team A inbounds the ball just after a made basket. One second ticks off the shot clock before Team A is granted a time out. When they come back from time out, 34 seconds is still showing on the shot clock.

When the shot clock gets down to 25 (this is according to the TV graphics), the officials whistle a 10 second violation.

Is it the rule in NCAAM that the 10 second count resumes from where it left off coming out of a timeout? Or was this a TV graphics mix up?

The officials got together for a second before they gave it to Team B to inbound, but maybe that was the T telling the C to back off.

In both college and high school, the count does not resume after a dead ball.

This is different than the NBA rule where a team has 8 seconds flat to advance the ball. There are a few situations where the count is reset but assuming those don't happen, 8 is all you get.

stiffler3492 Thu Dec 02, 2010 08:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 704883)
In both college and high school, the count does not resume after a dead ball.

This is different than the NBA rule where a team has 8 seconds flat to advance the ball. There are a few situations where the count is reset but assuming those don't happen, 8 is all you get.

The TV people didn't show the officials for the entire count, so I wasn't able to count along with them. Maybe it was a situation where the shot clock ticked to 34, but it was really like 34.9 or something.

APG Thu Dec 02, 2010 08:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 704884)
The TV people didn't show the officials for the entire count, so I wasn't able to count along with them. Maybe it was a situation where the shot clock ticked to 34, but it was really like 34.9 or something.

If what you said was true (that 34 was on the clock after the timeout, and subsequently a 10 second violation was called at 25), then either both officials had a brain fart (though there's no reason for the C to call a violation here unless it's absolutely obvious), or both officials had a fast count. I'm banking on the first one.

tjones1 Thu Dec 02, 2010 09:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 704883)
This is different than the NBA rule where a team has 8 seconds flat to advance the ball. There are a few situations where the count is reset but assuming those don't happen, 8 is all you get.

The NB-what? ;)

stiffler3492 Thu Dec 02, 2010 09:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 704886)
If what you said was true (that 34 was on the clock after the timeout, and subsequently a 10 second violation was called at 25), then either both officials had a brain fart (though there's no reason for the C to call a violation here unless it's absolutely obvious), or both officials had a fast count. I'm banking on the first one.

Like I said, I'm going off the TV graphics, so it's possible that they made the mistake.

jeffpea Fri Dec 03, 2010 01:48pm

D1 officials tend to watch the shot clock to determine the backcourt counts...that is why there was (at least as you described) a double whistle with T and C...

(just to cover myself and avoid an argument based on semantics...note I said "D1 officials tend to"...I did not say ALL or MOST)...I just can't deal w/ a silly discussion forum debate on Friday...:)

Indianaref Fri Dec 03, 2010 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeffpea (Post 705094)
D1 officials tend to watch the shot clock to determine the backcourt counts...that is why there was (at least as you described) a double whistle with T and C...

I think you are right, I read somewhere the C will have an eye on the shot clock and can call this...

Also, in this game, saw a rare violation in first half when the thrower-in handed the ball to his teammate. Covering official was on it.

dahoopref Fri Dec 03, 2010 04:53pm

IMO, the C should only be in assistance if the T requests it. The C shouldn't be calling a 10-sec violation.

For example: if an inbound pass by A1 is deflected by B1 and a scramble for the ball lasts about 3 seconds, the shot and game will start simultaneously. A2 picks up the ball with 32 seconds on the shot-clock; the T starts his 10-second count. With 25 seconds showing on the shot-clock and the ball still in the BC, the C (assuming he's now a hero with a whistle) calls a 10-sec violation when the T only has 7 secs on his 10-sec count. Big blunder by the C.

A ten second count starts when an in-bound player and his team is in control of the ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1