The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 04:03pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
What are your thoughts?
A bit conflicted.

As Rufus correctly pointed out...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus
Since the alternating-posession throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended...
However, 4-42-5a says...

Quote:
The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player in bounds.
Notice that this rule doesn't say "legally touches or is legally touched." It just says "touches." In the play, the ball was indeed touched, and you could argue that made the throw-in over, though he illegal touching made for a kicking violation.

I just wonder why they'd leave out "legally" before touches, when the case book says something different.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
A bit conflicted.

As Rufus correctly pointed out...



However, 4-42-5a says...



Notice that this rule doesn't say "legally touches or is legally touched." It just says "touches." In the play, the ball was indeed touched, and you could argue that made the throw-in over, though he illegal touching made for a kicking violation.

I just wonder why they'd leave out "legally" before touches, when the case book says something different.
In a kick, the player touches the ball (albeit illegally).

The ball touches a player when the player's back is turned, or the player is motionless, etc. The ball can't touch an inbounds player illegally.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 04:14pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
There's the crux, Bob. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The ball can't touch an inbounds player illegally.
The ball can't do anything, so can't do anything illegally.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 04:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
The ball touching a player is a result only of the actions of the thrower. The player being touched is a passive participant in the act and, AFAIK, there is no way for the thrower to illegally touch another player with the throw-in.

Being "touched by", however, is about the action of the player on the floor. In this case, the player seeks out the ball and causes the touch. This player's action may be legal or illegal.

That's my take.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T for Kicking Scooby Basketball 13 Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:25pm
Kicking it Terrapins Fan Basketball 19 Fri Jan 26, 2007 09:53am
Kicking bwbuddy Basketball 4 Mon Jan 09, 2006 11:50am
Techical/APTI violation OldCoachNewRef Basketball 3 Mon Nov 29, 2004 11:06am
Kicking bwbuddy Basketball 14 Fri Nov 14, 2003 04:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1