Thread: Kicking an APTI
View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 04:12pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
A bit conflicted.

As Rufus correctly pointed out...



However, 4-42-5a says...



Notice that this rule doesn't say "legally touches or is legally touched." It just says "touches." In the play, the ball was indeed touched, and you could argue that made the throw-in over, though he illegal touching made for a kicking violation.

I just wonder why they'd leave out "legally" before touches, when the case book says something different.
In a kick, the player touches the ball (albeit illegally).

The ball touches a player when the player's back is turned, or the player is motionless, etc. The ball can't touch an inbounds player illegally.
Reply With Quote