Thread: Kicking an APTI
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 04:03pm
bainsey bainsey is offline
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
What are your thoughts?
A bit conflicted.

As Rufus correctly pointed out...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus
Since the alternating-posession throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended...
However, 4-42-5a says...

Quote:
The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player in bounds.
Notice that this rule doesn't say "legally touches or is legally touched." It just says "touches." In the play, the ball was indeed touched, and you could argue that made the throw-in over, though he illegal touching made for a kicking violation.

I just wonder why they'd leave out "legally" before touches, when the case book says something different.
Reply With Quote