The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Kicking an APTI (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59945-kicking-apti.html)

bainsey Wed Dec 01, 2010 03:30pm

Kicking an APTI
 
From RefSchool...

Team A is awarded an alternating possession throw-in. A-1's throw-in pass is illegally kicked by B-2. The official rules a kicking violation.

The official instructs the scorer to change the arrow to Team B and then awards the ball to Team A for a throw-in nearest to where the kicking violation occurred. Is the official correct?

rlarry Wed Dec 01, 2010 03:33pm

No. the throw in is now for the kicking violation. Since the AP throw in never legally ended, A keeps the arrow

Da Official Wed Dec 01, 2010 03:35pm

I vote no...

Raymond Wed Dec 01, 2010 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 704328)
From RefSchool...

Team A is awarded an alternating possession throw-in. A-1's throw-in pass is illegally kicked by B-2. The official rules a kicking violation.

The official instructs the scorer to change the arrow to Team B and then awards the ball to Team A for a throw-in nearest to where the kicking violation occurred. Is the official correct?


What are your thoughts?

Rufus Wed Dec 01, 2010 03:39pm

From 4.42.5 ruling in the case book:

As a result of B2's kicking violation, Team A is awarded a new throw-in at the designated spot nearest to where the kicking violation (illegal touching) occurred. Since the alternating-posession throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended and therefore, the arrow remains with Team A for the next AP throw-in. COMMENT: The kicking violation ends the AP throw-in and as a result, a non-AP throw-in is administered. When the ball is legally touched on the subsequent throw-in following the kicking violation, the arrow shall not be changed and shall remain with Team A.

bainsey Wed Dec 01, 2010 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 704334)
What are your thoughts?

A bit conflicted.

As Rufus correctly pointed out...

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rufus
Since the alternating-posession throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended...

However, 4-42-5a says...

Quote:

The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player in bounds.
Notice that this rule doesn't say "legally touches or is legally touched." It just says "touches." In the play, the ball was indeed touched, and you could argue that made the throw-in over, though he illegal touching made for a kicking violation.

I just wonder why they'd leave out "legally" before touches, when the case book says something different.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 01, 2010 04:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 704341)
A bit conflicted.

As Rufus correctly pointed out...



However, 4-42-5a says...



Notice that this rule doesn't say "legally touches or is legally touched." It just says "touches." In the play, the ball was indeed touched, and you could argue that made the throw-in over, though he illegal touching made for a kicking violation.

I just wonder why they'd leave out "legally" before touches, when the case book says something different.

In a kick, the player touches the ball (albeit illegally).

The ball touches a player when the player's back is turned, or the player is motionless, etc. The ball can't touch an inbounds player illegally.

Back In The Saddle Wed Dec 01, 2010 04:13pm

The ball touching a player is a result only of the actions of the thrower. The player being touched is a passive participant in the act and, AFAIK, there is no way for the thrower to illegally touch another player with the throw-in.

Being "touched by", however, is about the action of the player on the floor. In this case, the player seeks out the ball and causes the touch. This player's action may be legal or illegal.

That's my take.

bainsey Wed Dec 01, 2010 04:14pm

There's the crux, Bob. Thanks.

mbyron Wed Dec 01, 2010 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 704347)
The ball can't touch an inbounds player illegally.

The ball can't do anything, so can't do anything illegally. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1