The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 12:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 71
Illegal Throw-In After Made Basket

Another question that's been on my mind--

Team A scores a basket, and B has an endline throw-in. B1 retrieves the ball while it is still in bounds (after it has gone through the basket) and passes/dribbles up the court (without throwing it in from OOB). Is this a violation (A ball underneath) or is it just whistled dead and team B instructed to make a proper throw-in?

What if B1 has one foot OOB and one foot in when he throws it in? What if he has one foot OOB and one in the air?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 12:52pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDorian37 View Post
Another question that's been on my mind--

Team A scores a basket, and B has an endline throw-in. B1 retrieves the ball while it is still in bounds (after it has gone through the basket) and passes/dribbles up the court (without throwing it in from OOB). Is this a violation (A ball underneath) or is it just whistled dead and team B instructed to make a proper throw-in?
It would be a violation after five seconds.

Quote:
What if B1 has one foot OOB and one foot in when he throws it in?
That's an inbound violation.

Quote:
What if he has one foot OOB and one in the air?
Then he's legally OOB and there's no violation.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 12:53pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDorian37 View Post
Another question that's been on my mind--

Team A scores a basket, and B has an endline throw-in. B1 retrieves the ball while it is still in bounds (after it has gone through the basket) and passes/dribbles up the court (without throwing it in from OOB). Is this a violation (A ball underneath) or is it just whistled dead and team B instructed to make a proper throw-in?

What if B1 has one foot OOB and one foot in when he throws it in? What if he has one foot OOB and one in the air?
Violation when it's obvious that Team B isn't going to be throwing the ball in.

Also if B1 has one foot out of bounds and one foot inbounds, then it's a violation. If B1 has one foot out of bounds and the other in the air, then a legal throw-in.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 12:55pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
It would be a violation after five seconds
Pretty sure that you don't have to wait 5 seconds. A casebook play came out a couple of year ago that said it's a violation once it's obvious that the team won't be throwing the ball in.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 71
So if they don't throw it in and start moving down the court, just count 5 seconds and then call a violation? What if other activity (e.g. a foul, a score) has occurred?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 12:59pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDorian37 View Post
So if they don't throw it in and start moving down the court, just count 5 seconds and then call a violation? What if other activity (e.g. a foul, a score) has occurred?
Don't wait five seconds. Once you realize that Team B won't be throwing the ball in, call the violation. It'll be obvious when Team B won't be throwing the ball in.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 01:06pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,643
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
An unusual one.....for me anyhow

Last night G JV Scrimmage. A1 scores. A2 picks up the ball while it's out of bounds and starts running the endline to inbound the ball. Me = TWEET!

Delay of Game violation.

All I could think of is she must have been confused from practices.

Funny thing was no one from B was really protesting or trying to get the ball from her.......start of a new season. Shrug.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 01:11pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar View Post
Last night G JV Scrimmage. A1 scores. A2 picks up the ball while it's out of bounds and starts running the endline to inbound the ball. Me = TWEET!

Delay of Game violation.

All I could think of is she must have been confused from practices.

Funny thing was no one from B was really protesting or trying to get the ball from her.......start of a new season. Shrug.
Is a delay of game warning the right call here? I don't know if I'd call it especially if Team B wasn't going for the ball. I'd just blow my whistle and reset the throw-in for Team B.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 01:15pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,643
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Is a delay of game warning the right call here? I don't know if I'd call it especially if Team B wasn't going for the ball. I'd just blow my whistle and reset the throw-in for Team B.
I thought about letting it go at first, but called it because it temporarily confused team B and prevented them from getting the ball and inbounding it. A2 ran a pretty good way down the line and used several seconds before I blew it dead. Just my opinion. Other thoughts?
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 01:27pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar View Post
I thought about letting it go at first, but called it because it temporarily confused team B and prevented them from getting the ball and inbounding it. A2 ran a pretty good way down the line and used several seconds before I blew it dead. Just my opinion. Other thoughts?
Isn't there a casebook play that tells us that if we believe Team A did this accidentally, we're directed to reset the play and give Team B the throw in? And if we think Team A did this on purpose, we charge them with a technical foul?
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 01:49pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDorian37 View Post
1) Team A scores a basket, and B has an endline throw-in. B1 retrieves the ball while it is still in bounds (after it has gone through the basket) and passes/dribbles up the court (without throwing it in from OOB). Is this a violation (A ball underneath) or is it just whistled dead and team B instructed to make a proper throw-in?

2) What if B1 has one foot OOB and one foot in when he throws it in?

3) What if he has one foot OOB and one in the air?
1) Violation as per NFHS rule 9-2-2

2) Violation as per NFHS rule 9-2-2

3) Legal. The thrower was OOB by rule..4-35-1(a).
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar View Post
I thought about letting it go at first, but called it because it temporarily confused team B and prevented them from getting the ball and inbounding it. A2 ran a pretty good way down the line and used several seconds before I blew it dead. Just my opinion. Other thoughts?
I don't see that it's any different than A2 knocking the ball away after it comes through the net. She delayed Tean B from getting the ball and inbounding it.

DOG warning works for me.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 02:47pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,807
I am too busy watching both the Browns and Steelers win their games to do a search about the long long thread about this time of play a couple of years ago. I hope that one of the young ones on the Forum will do the search. I think "we" (as in the members of this Forum) even got the NFHS to issue an Intepretation on the play.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Ump. Assn.
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio

Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Sun Nov 28, 2010 at 09:23pm. Reason: Added clarification.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 07:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,711
9.2.2 SITUATION C: A1 scores a basket. After the ball goes through the net, B1
grabs it and makes a move toward the end line as though preparing to make a
throw-in. However, B1 never legally steps out of bounds, both feet remain
inbounds. B1 immediately passes the ball up the court to a fast-breaking teammate,
who scores a basket. RULING: Cancel Team B's goal, throw-in violation on
B1. The ball was at B1's disposal after the made basket to make a throw-in. B1
must be out of bounds to make a legal throw-in. (7-4-3; 7-5-7)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2010, 09:15pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
9.2.2 SITUATION C: A1 scores a basket. After the ball goes through the net, B1
grabs it and makes a move toward the end line as though preparing to make a
throw-in. However, B1 never legally steps out of bounds, both feet remain
inbounds. B1 immediately passes the ball up the court to a fast-breaking teammate,
who scores a basket. RULING: Cancel Team B's goal, throw-in violation on
B1. The ball was at B1's disposal after the made basket to make a throw-in. B1
must be out of bounds to make a legal throw-in. (7-4-3; 7-5-7)
Thank you for saving me the trouble.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw In after Made Basket actuary77 Basketball 15 Fri Jan 04, 2008 12:25pm
Throw in after made basket CoachP Basketball 15 Thu Aug 02, 2007 05:00pm
Throw-in after made basket FrankHtown Basketball 8 Wed Dec 20, 2006 04:05pm
Throw in after made basket Rodego Basketball 11 Fri Jul 30, 2004 05:12pm
Throw-In after made basket kschau Basketball 1 Sat Jan 20, 2001 11:10am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1