The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 20, 2010, 06:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 734
Coaches and players are often confused, perhaps in part b/c this is a violation in the NBA, which only permits a player to rebound his own shot if it touches the rim.

Quote:
Originally Posted by timeout View Post
A1 dribbles toward her basket, shoots, but the ball hits the side of the backboard and comes right back to her. She then dribbles around a little.
Is this a double dribble violation?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 20, 2010, 06:45pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker View Post
Coaches and players are often confused, perhaps in part b/c this is a violation in the NBA, which only permits a player to rebound his own shot if it touches the rim.

As much as they cry on this play, X 10 for airballs.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 20, 2010, 09:27pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker View Post
Coaches and players are often confused, perhaps in part b/c this is a violation in the NBA, which only permits a player to rebound his own shot if it touches the rim.
Incorrect. A player can retrieve the ball if it hits the backboard or rim.

NBA Casebook 2010-2011

9. Player A1 passes the ball and it hits his backboard. May Player A1 be the first to touch the ball?

Yes. A player may be the first to touch his own pass if the ball touches
his basket ring, backboard or another player.

RULE 10 - SECTION XIII - g
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 01:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Incorrect. A player can retrieve the ball if it hits the backboard or rim.

NBA Casebook 2010-2011

9. Player A1 passes the ball and it hits his backboard. May Player A1 be the first to touch the ball?

Yes. A player may be the first to touch his own pass if the ball touches
his basket ring, backboard or another player.

RULE 10 - SECTION XIII - g
Is this the same for NFHS? I had this play in a varsity boys high school game. Player attempted a pass to a player who was cutting - the ball was a bit high and hit the backboard, the passer quickly reacted, caught off the board and then made a dribble a scored.

This was a head scratcher to me. I was working with two college officials and they had nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 07:05am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Is this the same for NFHS? I had this play in a varsity boys high school game. Player attempted a pass to a player who was cutting - the ball was a bit high and hit the backboard, the passer quickly reacted, caught off the board and then made a dribble a scored.

This was a head scratcher to me. I was working with two college officials and they had nothing.
As cited in NFHS case book play 4.15.Sit.C(c), it's a legal play as long as you rule that it's a try. And unless you can read minds, the accepted call by all officials...oh....forever.... has been to always rule that it was an attempted try. That's why your college official partners had nothing on the play. No normal, sane official would rule it as being a pass when there is even the tiniest doubt that it might have been a try. And as I said, unless you can read minds there HAS to be that little bit of doubt there.

And if BillyMac starts up on this forum about this particular call, I will personally travel to Connecticut and remove his gonads with a dull butter knife, such knife having been supplied by BktBallRef. You've been warned, Billy.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Nov 23, 2010 at 07:07am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 07:47am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,520
Got Your Passport ???

Nevermind.

Also, according to my pseudo screen persona, I'm an environmental chemical analyst from Connecticut. I'm really a sweet transvestite from Transsexual, Transylvania.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Jurassic Referee .... I appreciate your detailed answer.

In this particular play, there was little no doubt it was not a pass

A1 was trying to connect with A2 who had slipped behind the defender. A1 never jumped and made the throw with two hands over the top of his head.

In accordance to NFHS rules, this would be illegal, because it was not a try? What would be the call?

Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 10:24am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Jurassic Referee .... I appreciate your detailed answer.

In this particular play, there was little no doubt it was not a pass

A1 was trying to connect with A2 who had slipped behind the defender. A1 never jumped and made the throw with two hands over the top of his head.

In accordance to NFHS rules, this would be illegal, because it was not a try? What would be the call?

Thanks!!!
My call would be nothing; because I'm not going to be the only guy who makes that call. The accepted call is to rule this a try and play on.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
In this particular play, there was little no doubt it was not a pass
Huh?

In any event -- play on if the ball hits the team's backboard.

If it hits the opponent's backboard, that's a different story.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 10:36am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
In this particular play, there was little no doubt it was not a pass

A1 was trying to connect with A2 who had slipped behind the defender. A1 never jumped and made the throw with two hands over the top of his head.

In accordance to NFHS rules, this would be illegal, because it was not a try? What would be the call?
Little? If there's any doubt, the accepted practice is to rule it a try. And as I said, unless you're a mind-reader, there always has to be some doubt, no matter how small.

The bottom line on this particular call, Johnny, is that afaik it's almost universally accepted that anything thrown off their own board should be judged a try. By strict reading of the rule though, you can judge it as being a pass. But there's also the fact that you might be right in theory in judging it a pass but be very, very wrong in real life if you do so. My advice fwiw is that you should find out from someone in your area...assignor, rules interpreter, etc.... how they want you to call this particular play. Don't be "that guy".

Btw, this exact play is currently being discussed on 2 other basketball officiating discussion forums, even as we speak. The almost unanimous consensus seems to be that the accepted call everywhere is to deem it a try all the time.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Nov 23, 2010 at 10:58am.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 25, 2010, 07:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Jurassic Referee .... I appreciate your detailed answer.

In this particular play, there was little no doubt it was not a pass

A1 was trying to connect with A2 who had slipped behind the defender. A1 never jumped and made the throw with two hands over the top of his head.

In accordance to NFHS rules, this would be illegal, because it was not a try? What would be the call?

Thanks!!!
The try is not a factor. The following play ruling allows any thrown ball.

DRIBBLE RULE
*9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws
the ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c)
an official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own
backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an
official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it
strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-2; Fundamental 19)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backboard timeout Basketball 32 Wed Nov 17, 2010 12:39pm
Over the Backboard cubsfanllw Basketball 19 Thu Dec 25, 2008 03:33am
top of backboard gduck Basketball 8 Mon Mar 04, 2002 07:47pm
Over the backboard williebfree Basketball 4 Tue Dec 04, 2001 11:08am
Over the backboard luanchpad Basketball 8 Mon Dec 20, 1999 04:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1