The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 01:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Incorrect. A player can retrieve the ball if it hits the backboard or rim.

NBA Casebook 2010-2011

9. Player A1 passes the ball and it hits his backboard. May Player A1 be the first to touch the ball?

Yes. A player may be the first to touch his own pass if the ball touches
his basket ring, backboard or another player.

RULE 10 - SECTION XIII - g
Is this the same for NFHS? I had this play in a varsity boys high school game. Player attempted a pass to a player who was cutting - the ball was a bit high and hit the backboard, the passer quickly reacted, caught off the board and then made a dribble a scored.

This was a head scratcher to me. I was working with two college officials and they had nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 07:05am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Is this the same for NFHS? I had this play in a varsity boys high school game. Player attempted a pass to a player who was cutting - the ball was a bit high and hit the backboard, the passer quickly reacted, caught off the board and then made a dribble a scored.

This was a head scratcher to me. I was working with two college officials and they had nothing.
As cited in NFHS case book play 4.15.Sit.C(c), it's a legal play as long as you rule that it's a try. And unless you can read minds, the accepted call by all officials...oh....forever.... has been to always rule that it was an attempted try. That's why your college official partners had nothing on the play. No normal, sane official would rule it as being a pass when there is even the tiniest doubt that it might have been a try. And as I said, unless you can read minds there HAS to be that little bit of doubt there.

And if BillyMac starts up on this forum about this particular call, I will personally travel to Connecticut and remove his gonads with a dull butter knife, such knife having been supplied by BktBallRef. You've been warned, Billy.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Nov 23, 2010 at 07:07am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 07:47am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,406
Got Your Passport ???

Nevermind.

Also, according to my pseudo screen persona, I'm an environmental chemical analyst from Connecticut. I'm really a sweet transvestite from Transsexual, Transylvania.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Jurassic Referee .... I appreciate your detailed answer.

In this particular play, there was little no doubt it was not a pass

A1 was trying to connect with A2 who had slipped behind the defender. A1 never jumped and made the throw with two hands over the top of his head.

In accordance to NFHS rules, this would be illegal, because it was not a try? What would be the call?

Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 10:24am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Jurassic Referee .... I appreciate your detailed answer.

In this particular play, there was little no doubt it was not a pass

A1 was trying to connect with A2 who had slipped behind the defender. A1 never jumped and made the throw with two hands over the top of his head.

In accordance to NFHS rules, this would be illegal, because it was not a try? What would be the call?

Thanks!!!
My call would be nothing; because I'm not going to be the only guy who makes that call. The accepted call is to rule this a try and play on.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
In this particular play, there was little no doubt it was not a pass
Huh?

In any event -- play on if the ball hits the team's backboard.

If it hits the opponent's backboard, that's a different story.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 10:33am
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Huh?

In any event -- play on if the ball hits the team's backboard.

If it hits the opponent's backboard, that's a different story.
yup.... bad pass = bad shot I got nuthin
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 10:36am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
In this particular play, there was little no doubt it was not a pass

A1 was trying to connect with A2 who had slipped behind the defender. A1 never jumped and made the throw with two hands over the top of his head.

In accordance to NFHS rules, this would be illegal, because it was not a try? What would be the call?
Little? If there's any doubt, the accepted practice is to rule it a try. And as I said, unless you're a mind-reader, there always has to be some doubt, no matter how small.

The bottom line on this particular call, Johnny, is that afaik it's almost universally accepted that anything thrown off their own board should be judged a try. By strict reading of the rule though, you can judge it as being a pass. But there's also the fact that you might be right in theory in judging it a pass but be very, very wrong in real life if you do so. My advice fwiw is that you should find out from someone in your area...assignor, rules interpreter, etc.... how they want you to call this particular play. Don't be "that guy".

Btw, this exact play is currently being discussed on 2 other basketball officiating discussion forums, even as we speak. The almost unanimous consensus seems to be that the accepted call everywhere is to deem it a try all the time.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Nov 23, 2010 at 10:58am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Thanks JR. That helps.

I should not have said "little" ... should have said none. A1 even said to A2 on the other end of the floor: "My bad!" once they were on the other end of the floor.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 11:13am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
But there's also the fact that you might be right in theory in judging it a pass but be very, very wrong in real life if you do so.
I once heard a very good official give a talk where he said "You might be right, but you'll be the rightest official sitting at home at tournament time".
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 12:18pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
And there is another guy who posts here who MIGHT say, "Don't be a plumber." [Okay. He probably WOULD say it].
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 25, 2010, 07:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Jurassic Referee .... I appreciate your detailed answer.

In this particular play, there was little no doubt it was not a pass

A1 was trying to connect with A2 who had slipped behind the defender. A1 never jumped and made the throw with two hands over the top of his head.

In accordance to NFHS rules, this would be illegal, because it was not a try? What would be the call?

Thanks!!!
The try is not a factor. The following play ruling allows any thrown ball.

DRIBBLE RULE
*9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws
the ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c)
an official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own
backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an
official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it
strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-2; Fundamental 19)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 25, 2010, 08:16pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,406
Because I love that dirty water, Oh, oh, Boston, you're my home

Nevadaref just muddied the water a little bit.

9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)

Let me just get this straight in my mind: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he throws the ball against his own backboard and catches the ball. Legal; because a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used.

I don't understand the "equipment" explanation, but a casebook play is as good as any other rule citation.

OK. So now we know that the player can stop his dribble, throw it off his own backboard, and legally catch it. My question now: Does he legally "have the same privileges as the other nine players on the court to shoot the ball or begin a dribble"? I say that he legally can shoot the ball, but I still say that he cannot legally start a new dribble because he never attempted a try. According to the 60 Seconds On Officiating website, A1 now does have "the same privileges as the other nine players on the court to shoot the ball or begin a dribble". I still say, "No".
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Nov 25, 2010 at 08:48pm.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 25, 2010, 09:21pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Nevadaref just muddied the water a little bit.

9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)

Let me just get this straight in my mind: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he throws the ball against his own backboard and catches the ball. Legal; because a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used.

I don't understand the "equipment" explanation, but a casebook play is as good as any other rule citation.

OK. So now we know that the player can stop his dribble, throw it off his own backboard, and legally catch it. My question now: Does he legally "have the same privileges as the other nine players on the court to shoot the ball or begin a dribble"? I say that he legally can shoot the ball, but I still say that he cannot legally start a new dribble because he never attempted a try. According to the 60 Seconds On Officiating website, A1 now does have "the same privileges as the other nine players on the court to shoot the ball or begin a dribble". I still say, "No".
Everybody else says yes. Even without Nevada's cite, we all still can consider it a try, unless you still want to be "that guy."
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backboard timeout Basketball 32 Wed Nov 17, 2010 12:39pm
Over the Backboard cubsfanllw Basketball 19 Thu Dec 25, 2008 03:33am
top of backboard gduck Basketball 8 Mon Mar 04, 2002 07:47pm
Over the backboard williebfree Basketball 4 Tue Dec 04, 2001 11:08am
Over the backboard luanchpad Basketball 8 Mon Dec 20, 1999 04:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1