![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Jurassic Referee .... I appreciate your detailed answer.
In this particular play, there was little no doubt it was not a pass ![]() A1 was trying to connect with A2 who had slipped behind the defender. A1 never jumped and made the throw with two hands over the top of his head. In accordance to NFHS rules, this would be illegal, because it was not a try? What would be the call? Thanks!!! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In any event -- play on if the ball hits the team's backboard. If it hits the opponent's backboard, that's a different story. |
|
|||
|
yup.... bad pass = bad shot I got nuthin
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The bottom line on this particular call, Johnny, is that afaik it's almost universally accepted that anything thrown off their own board should be judged a try. By strict reading of the rule though, you can judge it as being a pass. But there's also the fact that you might be right in theory in judging it a pass but be very, very wrong in real life if you do so. My advice fwiw is that you should find out from someone in your area...assignor, rules interpreter, etc.... how they want you to call this particular play. Don't be "that guy". Btw, this exact play is currently being discussed on 2 other basketball officiating discussion forums, even as we speak. The almost unanimous consensus seems to be that the accepted call everywhere is to deem it a try all the time. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Nov 23, 2010 at 10:58am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
And there is another guy who posts here who MIGHT say, "Don't be a plumber." [Okay. He probably WOULD say it].
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
|
Please ...
Can I play now?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
DRIBBLE RULE *9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-2; Fundamental 19) |
|
|||
|
Because I love that dirty water, Oh, oh, Boston, you're my home
Nevadaref just muddied the water a little bit.
9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19) Let me just get this straight in my mind: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he throws the ball against his own backboard and catches the ball. Legal; because a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. I don't understand the "equipment" explanation, but a casebook play is as good as any other rule citation. OK. So now we know that the player can stop his dribble, throw it off his own backboard, and legally catch it. My question now: Does he legally "have the same privileges as the other nine players on the court to shoot the ball or begin a dribble"? I say that he legally can shoot the ball, but I still say that he cannot legally start a new dribble because he never attempted a try. According to the 60 Seconds On Officiating website, A1 now does have "the same privileges as the other nine players on the court to shoot the ball or begin a dribble". I still say, "No".
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Nov 25, 2010 at 08:48pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
60 Hours On Officiating ...
Quote:
A1, who has ended his dribble, throws an alley oop pass to A2. A2 gets blocked out at the last second and doesn't come anywhere near catching, or even touching, the alley oop pass. The pass from A1 hits the top right corner of A1's backboard and rebounds immediately back to A1, who catches the rebounded ball and dribbles out of the lane. Please note that no decisions regarding a pass, or try, are needed in this hypothetical play. It says pass on three separate occasions. It's a pass, not a try. Period. Ruling? Citation please? Just for kicks, lets assume that it's a test question, needing a "rulebook answer". Here's a cheat sheet: NFHS 9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of: ART. 1 A try for field goal. ART. 2 A touch by an opponent. ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player. Here's the 60 Seconds On Officiating website take: "Throwing the ball and hitting the backboard of the team in possession is always considered a try for goal. The tossing player may compete to recover the ball, and if they do, they have the same privileges as the other nine players on the court to shoot the ball or begin a dribble. Note that the 60 Seconds On Officiating website is a partner of IAABO. I don't know what their relationship is with NFHS.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
||||
|
Quote:
As jar says, and as I've pointed out, without the case you could rule it a non-try and thus a violation, but you'd be the only one doing it. However, with the case play, you don't even have that option.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
It's legal, and the player who recovers the ball has all the priveleges of anyone else who "recovers" a loose ball. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| backboard | timeout | Basketball | 32 | Wed Nov 17, 2010 12:39pm |
| Over the Backboard | cubsfanllw | Basketball | 19 | Thu Dec 25, 2008 03:33am |
| top of backboard | gduck | Basketball | 8 | Mon Mar 04, 2002 07:47pm |
| Over the backboard | williebfree | Basketball | 4 | Tue Dec 04, 2001 11:08am |
| Over the backboard | luanchpad | Basketball | 8 | Mon Dec 20, 1999 04:04pm |