The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 08:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Because that's the rule. Would call would you suggest?
All I was doing was asking a question as to why the call is what it is.

How I understand rules/regulations, this would be a Defensive throw-in violation as the offense is unable to complete the throw-in. However, show me the rule & case book play that shows otherwise, & my thinking will change.
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 08:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
How I understand rules/regulations, this would be a Defensive throw-in violation as the offense is unable to complete the throw-in. However, show me the rule & case book play that shows otherwise, & my thinking will change.
You're making up rules. Of course the defense is trying to prevent the offense from completing a throw-in -- no rule prohibits that.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 08:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
You're making up rules. Of course the defense is trying to prevent the offense from completing a throw-in -- no rule prohibits that.
by B1 grabbing the ball and preventing A1 from completing the throw-in while A1 still has the ball is not a violation?

mbyron, I also asked that be shown the rule &/or case book play that says otherwise, which you did not do.

How about 9-2-10?
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson

Last edited by chseagle; Wed Nov 10, 2010 at 08:33pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 08:36pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
by B1 grabbing the ball and preventing A1 from completing the throw-in while A1 still has the ball is not a violation?

mbyron, I also asked that be shown the rule &/or case book play that says otherwise, which you did not do.

How about 9-2-10?
Read the OP again. A1 extended the ball over the line, iow, out over the inbounds area.

Now tell us how 9-2-10 applies.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 08:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Read the OP again. A1 extended the ball over the line, iow, out over the inbounds area.

Now tell us how 9-2-10 applies.
There was never an explanation if A1 pulled the ball back over the plane before the whistle.

If the ball did recross the plane then B1 would be in violation?

ART. 10. . . The opponent(s) of the thrower shall not have any part of his/her person through the inbounds side of the throw-in boundary-line plane until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass.
NOTE: The thrower may penetrate the plane provided he/she does not touch the inbounds area before the ball is released on the throw-in pass. The opponent in this situation may legally touch or grasp the ball.

A1 holds the ball across the plane, true, however what constitutes the legality of B1 being able to grab the ball causing the "jump ball"?

Also why didn't A1 just release the ball as soon as B1 grabbed it?

In this sitch, there are many what ifs or whys.
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 183
I believe A1 causes the ball to be out of bounds, and therefore not a jump ball. 7-2-2. IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 09:23pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
A1 holds the ball across the plane, true, however what constitutes the legality of B1 being able to grab the ball causing the "jump ball"?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishopcolle View Post
I believe A1 causes the ball to be out of bounds, and therefore not a jump ball. 7-2-2. IMO.
Case book play 7.6.4 Situation F.

I like it when the answer is so obvious that all I have to do is post a citation that addresses it exactly! (And I've been able to do that twice just in this thread!)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 09:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishopcolle View Post
I believe A1 causes the ball to be out of bounds, and therefore not a jump ball. 7-2-2. IMO.
Bzzzzzt. Thanks for playing.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 09:28pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post

Also why didn't A1 just release the ball as soon as B1 grabbed it?

In this sitch, there are many what ifs or whys.
The rule is pretty simple. If A1 holds the ball on the inbound side of the plane, Team B is free to play the ball. That means he can knock it out of his hands/cause a held ball. If Team A doesn't want this to happen, they best stay on the out of bounds side of the plane. In this sitch, if A1 were to hold the ball on the inbounds side of the plane and just dropped it whenever B1 grabbed it, the ball would be in play. A1 just basically gave the ball to Team B

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishopcolle View Post
I believe A1 causes the ball to be out of bounds, and therefore not a jump ball. 7-2-2. IMO.
How does a thrower cause the ball to be out of bounds whenever he is legally out of bounds and the throw-in hasn't ended? The correct call is a held ball.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 09:32pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishopcolle View Post
I believe A1 causes the ball to be out of bounds, and therefore not a jump ball. 7-2-2. IMO.
The throw-in did not end. A1 is legally out of bounds.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 11:56pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
All I was doing was asking a question as to why the call is what it is.

How I understand rules/regulations, this would be a Defensive throw-in violation as the offense is unable to complete the throw-in. However, show me the rule & case book play that shows otherwise, & my thinking will change.
You need to show me a rule that says it's a violation for the defense to prevent the offense from completing a throwin.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 12:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
The defensive player crosses the plane such as 7-6-4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
You need to show me a rule that says it's a violation for the defense to prevent the offense from completing a throwin.
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 12:32am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
The defensive player crosses the plane such as 7-6-4
The player breaking the plane is the violation. It has nothing to do with completing the throw-in.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 06:09am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
The defensive player crosses the plane such as 7-6-4
Um, no. The thrower held the ball over the plane in-bounds. The defender grabbed the ball on the in-bounds side of the plane. At NO time, did the defender cross the plane out-of-bounds. That's why it's a legal play.

You don't have a friggin' clue whatinthehell you're talking about. And that includes when and why to start the clock. If you don't understand what we're talking about, by all means ask questions until you do. But DO NOT try to tell us what to do. Quite simply, you do not have the rules knowledge to be doing something like that.

Just a suggestion from the kinder, gentler JR.....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clock question SamG Basketball 6 Mon Mar 29, 2010 05:09pm
A weird weekend for weird plays... SRW Softball 17 Tue Jun 17, 2008 04:18pm
weird clock situation blindzebra Basketball 2 Tue Dec 06, 2005 08:45pm
Weird Backcourt Question JLC Basketball 24 Sun Dec 26, 2004 07:24pm
Clock Question? APHP Basketball 17 Fri Feb 21, 2003 08:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1