The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 01, 2010, 01:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
FREE-THROW VIOLATIONS
9.1 COMMENT: While Rule 8-1 clearly states which marked lane spaces must be occupied and by whom, a team forfeits its right to any space not occupied before the free throw starts (when the ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower). Once a free throw starts, no player occupying a marked lane space (first three on each side) may enter or leave such space or break with either foot the vertical plane of any lane or lane-space boundary until the ball touches the ring or backboard or until the free throw ends. Players who do not occupy a marked lane space may not have either foot break the vertical plane of the free-throw-line extended and the vertical plane of the three-point line until the ball touches the ring, or the backboard, or the free throw ends. No player may enter or leave a marked lane space after the ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower until the restrictions have ended as outlined.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 01, 2010, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Also, if a player touches the floor outside of their space with something other than the foot (usually the hand), they are also considered to have left the space. Perhaps this is what is causing them the confusion. Merely putting the hand outside of the box but in the air (even into another player's space) is not a violation at all. You could end up with a foul, but that is a different discusssion.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 01, 2010, 02:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 265
That is understood, the problem is when players extend their hand and or arms accross their space and into another players space as they are preparing for a rebound. In the case book, letter c says it is legal. I just wanted to make sure I was reading it correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 01, 2010, 06:51pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by PIAA REF View Post
That is understood, the problem is when players extend their hand and or arms accross their space and into another players space as they are preparing for a rebound. In the case book, letter c says it is legal. I just wanted to make sure I was reading it correctly.
It's legal; I've seen some officials put a stop to it by telling players to keep their hands to themselves. I've also seen officials state it's illegal, but not be able to provide a rule reference.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 01, 2010, 07:15pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by PIAA REF View Post
That is understood, the problem is when players extend their hand and or arms accross their space and into another players space as they are preparing for a rebound. In the case book, letter c says it is legal. I just wanted to make sure I was reading it correctly.
Legal to extend arms. Could be a foul on contact though if you decide they hold with it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 02, 2010, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Legal to extend arms. Could be a foul on contact though if you decide they hold with it.
Or push
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 02, 2010, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Western Maine
Posts: 43
Rule reference...

legal play.

For your rules reference see NFHS 2010-11 casebook pg 70, 9.1.3 Situation L, play d
__________________
Joel P.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule 8-7-C (ASA) Clarification kyleflan Softball 21 Mon Apr 21, 2008 12:49pm
Rule 2-10 Clarification Burtis449 Basketball 3 Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:34am
ASA rule clarification pi010 Softball 4 Mon May 16, 2005 10:37am
rule clarification knightsfan74 Basketball 8 Sat Jan 17, 2004 11:59am
Rule Clarification Dennis Nicely Basketball 5 Mon Feb 19, 2001 01:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1