The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 11, 2010, 10:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
7-6-6 stuff

I know that 7-6-6 is not new as far as a ruling goes, but it is new in the rule book. It has created a lot of conversation in my association. I feel pretty sure there has been a thread about this before so if so, point me towad it.

7-6-6 . . . When the ball is awardd to the wrong team , the mistake must be rectified before the throw-in ends.

Does this mean that all related activities stand? IOW, if a team fouls (throw-in does not end) the penalty is applied. Is there nothing to correct since the throw-in didn't happen?

Is it just one of those bad situations where we as officials made things bad and fairness may not apply?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 11, 2010, 10:35pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
If during a throw-in a team fouls, that throw-in has "ended". There is a new throw-in awarded due to the foul.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 12, 2010, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
If during a throw-in a team fouls, that throw-in has "ended".
I disagree (4-42-5).

Sitch: Team A is erroneously awarded the ball for a throw-in under their own basket. Team B fouls prior to the throw-in ending. Team A is not in the bonus.

According to 7-6-6 we can still rectify the mistake. Which would be to award Team B the ball for a throw-in. However, there was activity that carries a penalty that allows for Team A to be awarded the ball for a throw-in.

IMO, all activity stands. 7-6-6 doesn't mean that we must rectify the mistake before the throw-in ends, it just means we can't rectify it after the throw-in ends.

I know I'm having this argument with myself but most of my arguments are with myself. I'm just looking for comfirmation and clarity so that I can easily explain it to fellow association members.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 12, 2010, 11:31am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
I disagree (4-42-5).

Sitch: Team A is erroneously awarded the ball for a throw-in under their own basket. Team B fouls prior to the throw-in ending. Team A is not in the bonus.

According to 7-6-6 we can still rectify the mistake. Which would be to award Team B the ball for a throw-in. However, there was activity that carries a penalty that allows for Team A to be awarded the ball for a throw-in.

IMO, all activity stands. 7-6-6 doesn't mean that we must rectify the mistake before the throw-in ends, it just means we can't rectify it after the throw-in ends.

I know I'm having this argument with myself but most of my arguments are with myself. I'm just looking for comfirmation and clarity so that I can easily explain it to fellow association members.
Tanner had it right. You got 'er wrong.

See case book plays 7.6.6. The RULING says that no correction can be made for the mistake after the throw-in ends. And the COMMENT in new case book play 4.42.5 states the kicking violation ends the AP throw-in.

Very straight language. Rules rulz!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 12, 2010, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 168
Send a message via AIM to tjchamp
But the throw in did not end. 4-42-5 indicates the throw in ends when a.) The passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player inbounds. b.) The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out of bounds, except as in 7-5-7. or C.) The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation. None of those instances happened. Play was stopped due to a foul.

The foul happened, and we need to charge it. However, it is not clear to me which team should get the throw-in. Since we caught the mistake before the throw-in ended, it should be Team B ball (7-6-6). But since B fouled, it should be A's throw in .
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 12, 2010, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjchamp View Post
But the throw in did not end. 4-42-5 indicates the throw in ends when a.) The passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player inbounds. b.) The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out of bounds, except as in 7-5-7. or C.) The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation. None of those instances happened. Play was stopped due to a foul.

The foul happened, and we need to charge it. However, it is not clear to me which team should get the throw-in. Since we caught the mistake before the throw-in ended, it should be Team B ball (7-6-6). But since B fouled, it should be A's throw in .
Take the mistake out of the equation, and how would you answer this: A1 has a throw-in due to, say, a travel violation on B. A1 is holding the ball, when A2 commits a common foul, and B is not yet in the bonus. Who gets the throw-in, and why? Does it matter if A1 had not completed the throw-in?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Stuff CJN Baseball 10 Sun Aug 28, 2005 05:18pm
Personal stuff Adam Basketball 12 Thu Jul 07, 2005 07:43am
stupid stuff rhsc Softball 3 Sat Apr 23, 2005 08:49am
Ref Stuff JMN Football 4 Tue Aug 19, 2003 01:16pm
Odd Stuff JJ Baseball 0 Mon Sep 03, 2001 01:36pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1