![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
In the NFHS rules, any reference to a pivot foot after jumping off one foot and landing on 2 says it is not allowed. Unlike the NCAA rule, there is no reference that says it is allowed. I'll try to run this up the flag through my state interpreter to see if we can get a definitive NFHS clarification. Here is how I would pose the question: Under NFHS rules, is there any circumstance that a player in control of the ball can jump off one foot, land on two and have a pivot foot available? -------------------------- NFHS Rule 4 Section 44. Traveling Article 2. A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows b. If one foot is on the floor: 2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in that case. NCAA Rule 4 Section 44. Jump Stop A jump stop may also be executed when the dribbler has one foot on the playing court, initiates a jump off that foot, ends the dribble with both feet off the playing court and lands simultaneously on both feet (either foot can be established as the pivot foot).
__________________
Developer of phillyref.com -- local, national, global officiating information |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Jump stop | texaspaul | Basketball | 25 | Mon Dec 10, 2007 02:56pm |
The Jump Stop | Johnny Ringo | Basketball | 17 | Tue Jan 30, 2007 02:54pm |
Jump stop | dsimp8 | Basketball | 5 | Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:03am |
jump stop | bonehead | Basketball | 2 | Thu Dec 23, 2004 01:01pm |
jump stop ? | scat03 | Basketball | 12 | Fri Nov 05, 2004 02:38pm |