The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 09:28am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanja View Post

Do see the NCAA rule below. The "Did you see that jump stop?" article in the current issue of Referee magazine also restates the jump stop definition emphasizing jump off one font and land on two as follows:

[I]A player may catch the ball while airborne, land on one foot and then jump to land on both feet simultaneously. or may catch the ball while on one foot and then jump to two simultaneously. The key is from one foot alone to two feet together. Any other variation is traveling.

And that statement highlighted in red is complete and utter nonsense, as well as being misleading. There IS another variation that isn't traveling. It very conveniently leaves out the third legal alternative---->an airborne player landing on one foot followed by the other. In that case, the first foot to land is the pivot foot and it sureashell is NOT traveling.

In case anybody's wondering, that's NCAA rule 4-70--3(a)2. It's exactly the same as NFHS rule 4-43-2(a). The traveling rules haven't changed in the last 50 years.

Again, all this nonsense is doing is just confusing the hell outa everybody imho. Forget about the terminology of stoopid jump stops and just learn the traveling rules. It's that freaking simple. And if any coach ever questions a traveling call, your reply is just as simple...."Coach, your player established their pivot foot after landing. Then your player lifted that pivot foot and brought it back down again while still holding the ball. That's traveling." And that's also it! End of conversation, turn back to coach, put ball back into play, Adios, amigos!

Lah me....paralysis through analysis again.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Wed Apr 21, 2010 at 01:48pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
And that statement highlighted in red is complete and utter nonsense, as well as being misleading. There IS another variation that isn't traveling. It very conveniently leaves out the third legal alternative---->an airborne player landing on one foot followed by the other. In that case, the first foot to land is the pivot foot and it sure as hell is NOT traveling.
Of course what you described is not traveling. That one line of the article should have been better written and the writer should have left if it out and avoided a distraction.

The point is that a jump stop involves jumping off of one foot and landing on two. Starting with you Jurassic, does anyone disagree with this and if so how do you reconcile it with the NCAA rule definition?

A secondary question is does anyone, starting with you Jurassic, disagree that after a jump stop, no pivot foot is available?

Please answer the questions.
__________________
Developer of phillyref.com -- local, national, global officiating information
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NB/PEI, Canada
Posts: 788
Whose definition of jump stop are we using to answer these questions? hehehehehe
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game!

Me: Thanks, but why the big rush.

Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanja View Post
Of course what you described is not traveling. That one line of the article should have been better written and the writer should have left if it out and avoided a distraction.

The point is that a jump stop involves jumping off of one foot and landing on two. Starting with you Jurassic, does anyone disagree with this and if so how do you reconcile it with the NCAA rule definition?

A secondary question is does anyone, starting with you Jurassic, disagree that after a jump stop, no pivot foot is available?

Please answer the questions.
1) Agreed

2) Disagree. The NCAA rule says "either foot can be established as the pivot foot" under one type of jump stop.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
2) Disagree. The NCAA rule says "either foot can be established as the pivot foot" under one type of jump stop.
Bob, does this quote taken directly from the 2009/2010 NCAA women's basketball points of emphasis change your position?

The shooter may legally perform a jump stop prior to releasing the try if she is moving or dribbling, and with one foot on the court, she jumps off that foot and simultaneously lands on both feet. From that position she may jump and release a try, but may not pivot on either foot.
__________________
Developer of phillyref.com -- local, national, global officiating information
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanja View Post
Bob, does this quote taken directly from the 2009/2010 NCAA women's basketball points of emphasis change your position?

The shooter may legally perform a jump stop prior to releasing the try if she is moving or dribbling, and with one foot on the court, she jumps off that foot and simultaneously lands on both feet. From that position she may jump and release a try, but may not pivot on either foot.
Why would it? Bob's referring to one type of jump stop, and this ruling refers to another. :shrug:
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanja View Post
Bob, does this quote taken directly from the 2009/2010 NCAA women's basketball points of emphasis change your position?
No.

The quote says nothing about the "type 2" (from 4-44.2) jump stop. It deals exclusively with the "type 1" (4-44.1) jump stop.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jump stop texaspaul Basketball 25 Mon Dec 10, 2007 02:56pm
The Jump Stop Johnny Ringo Basketball 17 Tue Jan 30, 2007 02:54pm
Jump stop dsimp8 Basketball 5 Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:03am
jump stop bonehead Basketball 2 Thu Dec 23, 2004 01:01pm
jump stop ? scat03 Basketball 12 Fri Nov 05, 2004 02:38pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1