The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 07:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 278
Jump stop definition.

What part of jump off one foot and land on 2 is unclear?

Do see the NCAA rule below. The "Did you see that jump stop?" article in the current issue of Referee magazine also restates the jump stop definition emphasizing jump off one font and land on two as follows:

A player may catch the ball while airborne, land on one foot and then jump to land on both feet simultaneously. or may catch the ball while on one foot and then jump to two simultaneously. The key is from one foot alone to two feet together. Any other variation is traveling.


NCAA Rule 4
Section 44. Jump Stop
Art. 1. A jump stop is executed when a player catches the ball while moving
or dribbling with:
a. One foot on the playing court, jumps off that foot and lands simultaneously on both feet (no pivot foot).
b. Two feet off the playing court, lands on one foot, jumps off that foot and lands simultaneously on both feet (no pivot foot).
Art. 2. A jump stop may also be executed when the dribbler has one foot onthe playing court, initiates a jump off that foot, ends the dribble with both feet off the playing court and lands simultaneously on both feet (either foot can be established as the pivot foot).[/QUOTE]
__________________
Developer of phillyref.com -- local, national, global officiating information
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 09:28am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanja View Post

Do see the NCAA rule below. The "Did you see that jump stop?" article in the current issue of Referee magazine also restates the jump stop definition emphasizing jump off one font and land on two as follows:

[I]A player may catch the ball while airborne, land on one foot and then jump to land on both feet simultaneously. or may catch the ball while on one foot and then jump to two simultaneously. The key is from one foot alone to two feet together. Any other variation is traveling.

And that statement highlighted in red is complete and utter nonsense, as well as being misleading. There IS another variation that isn't traveling. It very conveniently leaves out the third legal alternative---->an airborne player landing on one foot followed by the other. In that case, the first foot to land is the pivot foot and it sureashell is NOT traveling.

In case anybody's wondering, that's NCAA rule 4-70--3(a)2. It's exactly the same as NFHS rule 4-43-2(a). The traveling rules haven't changed in the last 50 years.

Again, all this nonsense is doing is just confusing the hell outa everybody imho. Forget about the terminology of stoopid jump stops and just learn the traveling rules. It's that freaking simple. And if any coach ever questions a traveling call, your reply is just as simple...."Coach, your player established their pivot foot after landing. Then your player lifted that pivot foot and brought it back down again while still holding the ball. That's traveling." And that's also it! End of conversation, turn back to coach, put ball back into play, Adios, amigos!

Lah me....paralysis through analysis again.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Wed Apr 21, 2010 at 01:48pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
And that statement highlighted in red is complete and utter nonsense, as well as being misleading. There IS another variation that isn't traveling. It very conveniently leaves out the third legal alternative---->an airborne player landing on one foot followed by the other. In that case, the first foot to land is the pivot foot and it sure as hell is NOT traveling.
Of course what you described is not traveling. That one line of the article should have been better written and the writer should have left if it out and avoided a distraction.

The point is that a jump stop involves jumping off of one foot and landing on two. Starting with you Jurassic, does anyone disagree with this and if so how do you reconcile it with the NCAA rule definition?

A secondary question is does anyone, starting with you Jurassic, disagree that after a jump stop, no pivot foot is available?

Please answer the questions.
__________________
Developer of phillyref.com -- local, national, global officiating information
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NB/PEI, Canada
Posts: 788
Whose definition of jump stop are we using to answer these questions? hehehehehe
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game!

Me: Thanks, but why the big rush.

Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,256
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanja View Post
Of course what you described is not traveling. That one line of the article should have been better written and the writer should have left if it out and avoided a distraction.

The point is that a jump stop involves jumping off of one foot and landing on two. Starting with you Jurassic, does anyone disagree with this and if so how do you reconcile it with the NCAA rule definition?

A secondary question is does anyone, starting with you Jurassic, disagree that after a jump stop, no pivot foot is available?

Please answer the questions.
1) Agreed

2) Disagree. The NCAA rule says "either foot can be established as the pivot foot" under one type of jump stop.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
2) Disagree. The NCAA rule says "either foot can be established as the pivot foot" under one type of jump stop.
Bob, does this quote taken directly from the 2009/2010 NCAA women's basketball points of emphasis change your position?

The shooter may legally perform a jump stop prior to releasing the try if she is moving or dribbling, and with one foot on the court, she jumps off that foot and simultaneously lands on both feet. From that position she may jump and release a try, but may not pivot on either foot.
__________________
Developer of phillyref.com -- local, national, global officiating information
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanja View Post
Bob, does this quote taken directly from the 2009/2010 NCAA women's basketball points of emphasis change your position?

The shooter may legally perform a jump stop prior to releasing the try if she is moving or dribbling, and with one foot on the court, she jumps off that foot and simultaneously lands on both feet. From that position she may jump and release a try, but may not pivot on either foot.
Why would it? Bob's referring to one type of jump stop, and this ruling refers to another. :shrug:
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,256
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanja View Post
Bob, does this quote taken directly from the 2009/2010 NCAA women's basketball points of emphasis change your position?
No.

The quote says nothing about the "type 2" (from 4-44.2) jump stop. It deals exclusively with the "type 1" (4-44.1) jump stop.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 02:00pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanja View Post

NCAA Rule 4
Section 44. Jump Stop
Art. 2. A jump stop may also be executed when the dribbler has one foot onthe playing court, initiates a jump off that foot, ends the dribble with both feet off the playing court and lands simultaneously on both feet (either foot can be established as the pivot foot).
And there's the rules citation to back up Bob.

And that's exactly why this discussion is causing so damn much confusion. You've got two completely different and disparate actions rules-wise, with both being classified as "jump stops".
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
And there's the rules citation to back up Bob.
A jump stop may also be executed when the dribbler has one foot onthe playing court, initiates a jump off that foot, ends the dribble with both feet off the playing court and lands simultaneously on both feet (either foot can be established as the pivot foot).

I think Bob and I (and you?) are almost in agreement. I missed the allowable NCAA pivot foot movement after a jump stop from one foot to 2 on the dribble. Even in that case the definition of a jump stop requires jumping from one foot to 2.

Here's what Bob and I agree upon. By NCAA rules definition

1. a jump stop involves jumping from 1 foot and landing simultaneously on 2
2. in the specific case noted, establishment of a pivot foot is allowed


I'm in full agreement with Bob if he can go for: by NCAA rule, a jump stop always involves jumping from 1 foot and landing on 2 feet simultaneously.

How about it Bob?
__________________
Developer of phillyref.com -- local, national, global officiating information
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 08:05pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanja View Post

I missed the allowable NCAA pivot foot movement after a jump stop from one foot to 2 on the dribble. Even in that case the definition of a jump stop requires jumping from one foot to 2.
But the problem is, this definition of jump stop, in and of itself, means nothing.
The key to whether a pivot is allowed after the stop is when the dribble ended, if the dribble ends with both feet off the floor, it doesn't matter whether the dribbler jumped off one foot or both.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove

Last edited by just another ref; Wed Apr 21, 2010 at 10:22pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 10:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 278
There is a difference between the NCAA and NFHS rules that I was unaware of. While the NCAA allows a pivot foot in the cited situation, the NFHS does not.


NCAA Rule 4
Section 44. Jump Stop
A jump stop may also be executed when the dribbler has one foot on the playing court, initiates a jump off that foot, ends the dribble with both feet off the playing court and lands simultaneously on both feet (either foot can be established as the pivot foot).

NFHS Rule 4
Section 44. Traveling
Article 2. A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows

a. If both feet are off the floor and the player lands:

3. On one foot, the palyer may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in that case.
__________________
Developer of phillyref.com -- local, national, global officiating information
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 10:47pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Actually, I believe the bottom line is the same. The player may pivot only if he ends the dribble with both feet off the floor. Then, if he lands on one foot followed by the other, the first to touch is the pivot. If he lands on both simultaneously, either can be the pivot.

Main difference is NFHS does not muddy up the water by defining jump stop.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 22, 2010, 12:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanja View Post
There is a difference between the NCAA and NFHS rules that I was unaware of. While the NCAA allows a pivot foot in the cited situation, the NFHS does not.
THe difference is NOT what you seem to be saying it is. In fact, both rules agree. These two rules are NOT talking about the same situation

Let's label the actions that are occuring as follows:

A = Airborne
C = Catch the ball
O = Landing on and Jumping from one foot
T = Land on two feet
P = Pivot

Quote:
Originally Posted by wanja View Post

NCAA Rule 4
Section 44. Jump Stop
A jump stop may also be executed when the dribbler has one foot on the playing court, initiates a jump off that foot, ends the dribble with both feet off the playing court and lands simultaneously on both feet (either foot can be established as the pivot foot).
This situation, using my labels as defined above, is

A - O - A - C - A - T - P (pivot is legal here)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wanja View Post
NFHS Rule 4
Section 44. Traveling
Article 2. A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows

a. If both feet are off the floor and the player lands:

3. On one foot, the palyer may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in that case.
This situation, using my labels as defined above, is

A - C - A - O - A - T - P (pivot is illegal here)

Note that the point of the "Catch" is different between these two.

One has the ball being caught after the jump from one foot (pivot allowed) where the other has the ball being caught before the jump (no pivot allowed).

Both sequences are judged the same in both rule sets...they're just written a bit differently.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Apr 22, 2010 at 12:43am.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 22, 2010, 06:47am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,565
Sammy, Give Me A Little Traveling Music ...

Many believe that the toughest call for basketball officials is the block/charge call. Yes, it's a tough call, especially when the official is unprepared for the play, and the call.

When I'm asked about my toughest calls, I always answer traveling. We probably see a lot more traveling/no traveling calls in a game than block/charges, and speaking for myself, I'm sure that if I broke down video from all of my games, that I would have made the wrong traveling call/noncall more than any other violation, or foul. Knowing the rule and definition to properly make this call is the beginning. Then the official has to be able to properly recognize these "moves" on the court as being legal, or illegal. Just because it looks "odd" doesn't mean it's a violation, and just because it looks like a "basketball move" doesn't mean it's legal.

I think that this thread shows the difficulty of properly calling, or not calling, traveling.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jump stop texaspaul Basketball 25 Mon Dec 10, 2007 02:56pm
The Jump Stop Johnny Ringo Basketball 17 Tue Jan 30, 2007 02:54pm
Jump stop dsimp8 Basketball 5 Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:03am
jump stop bonehead Basketball 2 Thu Dec 23, 2004 01:01pm
jump stop ? scat03 Basketball 12 Fri Nov 05, 2004 02:38pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1