The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 10, 2010, 10:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
COMMENTS ON THE 2002-03 RULES REVISIONS

JUMPER CATCHING A TOSS NOT CONSIDERED PLAYER CONTROL (4-12-1): An exception was
added to the definition of control by a player when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to
the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
Thank you for this 02-03 revision. I am trying to find where that is stated in the current rulebook and casebook. I thought I had looked everywhere, including where it specifies how to set the arrow, how to change the arrow after it has been set, and jump ball violations .
Did you try looking up the citation given -- RULE 4, Section 12, Article 1?

I see that Bob gave you the case book play number.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 10, 2010, 11:22pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
10-4 Good Buddy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Did you try looking up the citation given -- RULE 4, Section 12, Article 1?
Yes, but I didn't correlate the phrase, "There is not player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper..." with the question of which way the AP arrow would be set following the administration of the throw-in for the violation. Still don't, but the casebook nails it conclusively.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 10, 2010, 11:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
Yes, but I didn't correlate the phrase, "There is not player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper..." with the question of which way the AP arrow would be set following the administration of the throw-in for the violation. Still don't, but the casebook nails it conclusively.
Because of that exception to the player and team control rules, there would be a violation following the jump ball prior to team control being established by either team. Therefore, you would adhere to 4-3-3a in setting the initial direction of the arrow, instead of using 4-3-1.

That's the consequence of those words being added in 4-12-1 back in 2002.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No violation by the jumper? rfp Basketball 6 Wed Dec 02, 2009 07:32pm
Backcourt violation - 3 second violation Shades of Gray Basketball 15 Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:38pm
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? Nevadaref Basketball 47 Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm
Jump Ball - Foul on Jumper - Mechanic question HawkeyeCubP Basketball 5 Fri Jan 19, 2007 11:27pm
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation hardwdref Basketball 3 Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1