The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 05, 2010, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 265
You should have just shot the 1-1 live. (players on lane) Since their has been no change of possession you don't need to shoot with the lane cleared. I believe case book 2.10.1 E will help you. The case book is about what to do when possession changes and doesn't. In your case you killed the play with the team entitled to the free throws still in possession. So you would just shoot the free-throws like you would normally.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 05, 2010, 12:53pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by PIAA REF View Post
You should have just shot the 1-1 live. (players on lane) Since their has been no change of possession you don't need to shoot with the lane cleared. I believe case book 2.10.1 E will help you. The case book is about what to do when possession changes and doesn't. In your case you killed the play with the team entitled to the free throws still in possession. So you would just shoot the free-throws like you would normally.
You may want to read rule 8-1-3. I believe that will help you because you are wrong. The lanes are cleared.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 05, 2010, 12:59pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by PIAA REF View Post
You should have just shot the 1-1 live. (players on lane) Since their has been no change of possession you don't need to shoot with the lane cleared. I believe case book 2.10.1 E will help you. The case book is about what to do when possession changes and doesn't. In your case you killed the play with the team entitled to the free throws still in possession. So you would just shoot the free-throws like you would normally.
Hmmm. A gets a throwin and makes a basket. B is entitled to a throw in now. No change of possession?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 05, 2010, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 265
He said that he killed the play with the ball still in A's possession after the throw-in for the foul, IF that is the case you shoot the free-throws live. This would be under rule 2-10-6 (this is last yrs book) when correcting merited free throws: if there has been no change in team possession when the error was recognized. The play SHALL resume after free-throw attempts.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 05, 2010, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 265
Never Mind

I didn't catch the home team scores comment.

Bucket counts, clear line, shoot 1-1, player can run endline.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 05, 2010, 01:27pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by PIAA REF View Post
He said that he killed the play with the ball still in A's possession after the throw-in for the foul, IF that is the case you shoot the free-throws live. This would be under rule 2-10-6 (this is last yrs book) when correcting merited free throws: if there has been no change in team possession when the error was recognized. The play SHALL resume after free-throw attempts.
And you're still wrong.

Read rule 9-1-3--"If the ball is to become dead when the last free throw for a specific penalty is not successful, players shall not occupy any spaces along the free-throw lane."

It's that simple.

RIF
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 05, 2010, 01:31pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by PIAA REF View Post
He said that he killed the play with the ball still in A's possession after the throw-in for the foul, IF that is the case you shoot the free-throws live. This would be under rule 2-10-6 (this is last yrs book) when correcting merited free throws: if there has been no change in team possession when the error was recognized. The play SHALL resume after free-throw attempts.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
And you're still wrong.

Read rule 9-1-3--"If the ball is to become dead when the last free throw for a specific penalty is not successful, players shall not occupy any spaces along the free-throw lane."

It's that simple.

RIF
If Team A had maintained possession are you saying you are going to shoot the free throws then give the ball back to A?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Sure you could have, no change of possession had occurred. Line 'em up and shoot. It looks, though, like A scored pretty quickly after you noticed the fouls went up. That'll teach Bs coach to pipe up in that situation, too.

As Bob has said, the incentive seems to be to give everyone an interest in getting it right the first time; because it could end up hurting anyone depending on how it goes down.
I call bullcrap on that line of thinking every time. It's just as likely (actually more likely) that A's HC and/or scorekeeper purposely waited for play to resume before notifying the officials.

All game long we want coaches to coach and let us officiate but now all of a sudden a coach is supposed to perform Quality Control for the table and officiating crew.

This particular rule is just plain and simply a bad rule (JAR, where are you when I need you?) Needs to be changed so that if the offended team scores, the timeframe for the CE expires. Right now the offended team's HC has no incentive to identify the error until after his team has had a chance to score extra points.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Fri Feb 05, 2010 at 01:34pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 05, 2010, 04:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
This particular rule is just plain and simply a bad rule (JAR, where are you when I need you?) Needs to be changed so that if the offended team scores, the timeframe for the CE expires. Right now the offended team's HC has no incentive to identify the error until after his team has had a chance to score extra points.
That's exactly how they modified in FIBA: if the team who should have shot the FT scores, the error is ignored and play resumes with an endline throw-in.
Quote:
44.3.2 Failure to award a merited free throw(s).
• If there has been no change in possession of the ball since the error was made, the game shall be resumed after correction of the error as after any normal free throw.
• If the same team scores after having been erroneously awarded possession of the ball for a throw-in, the error shall be disregarded.
Otherwise, the error is corrected by shooting the free throws with lane cleared and play is resumed from the point of interruption (I know, there's no POI rule in FIBA, but that's the concept).

Ciao
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 06, 2010, 12:27am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by eg-italy View Post
That's exactly how they modified in FIBA: if the team who should have shot the FT scores, the error is ignored and play resumes with an endline throw-in.

Otherwise, the error is corrected by shooting the free throws with lane cleared and play is resumed from the point of interruption (I know, there's no POI rule in FIBA, but that's the concept).

Ciao
Good. FIBA has this one right.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 05, 2010, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
And you're still wrong.

Read rule 9-1-3--"If the ball is to become dead when the last free throw for a specific penalty is not successful, players shall not occupy any spaces along the free-throw lane."

It's that simple.

RIF
I don't think PIAA was arguing that, he was mistakenly (as you can see from his last post he realizes it) assuming the play was dead when A was in possession of the ball. Had that been the case, then he would be correct that the game would be resumed with the free throws, not at the POI.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 05, 2010, 01:37pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
I don't think PIAA was arguing that, he was mistakenly (as you can see from his last post he realizes it) assuming the play was dead when A was in possession of the ball. Had that been the case, then he would be correct that the game would be resumed with the free throws, not at the POI.
Yup.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 05, 2010, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vermont
Posts: 96
If you knew that it should have been 1-1

Could you have waited until B1 had the ball to start the throw in, to check with the table? Therefore, no correctable error and play on?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable error lukealex Basketball 77 Wed Nov 22, 2006 12:27pm
Correctable Error johnnyrao Basketball 41 Wed Nov 15, 2006 05:44pm
Correctable Error? Stat-Man Basketball 7 Mon Oct 11, 2004 12:12am
correctable error cloverdale Basketball 12 Thu Sep 30, 2004 03:19am
Correctable Error? Viking32 Basketball 3 Thu Feb 19, 2004 11:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1