The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 14, 2004, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 54
College game. A1 shoots and is fouled. Coach B goes a little bonkers and gets a "T". Officials administer shooting foul shots first. After both are completed, Coach B "reminds" officials that "T" shots should have been first. Officials agree. What do you do if:

A) both FT's were made
B) first FT made, second missed

__________________
No Brains.....No Headaches!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 14, 2004, 03:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Under NFHS rules, the shots WOULD NOT be shot again, if they were shot in the incorrect order per NFHS rules.

I do not believe they would be re-shot in NCAA either.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 14, 2004, 03:48pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally posted by Viking32
College game. A1 shoots and is fouled. Coach B goes a little bonkers and gets a "T". Officials administer shooting foul shots first. After both are completed, Coach B "reminds" officials that "T" shots should have been first. Officials agree. What do you do if:

A) both FT's were made
B) first FT made, second missed

If the 2nd shot is made (1st shot is irrelevant), you give the ball to B after the T shots. If the 2nd shot is missed, you go to the arrow after the T Shots. Now, I don't know where you'd put the ball in play here, under A's basket?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2004, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 54
After talking with about 30 officials regarding this issue, only one thing is clear. This seems to be a gray area.

Here's my take. Because the shooter of the first two FT's was not chosen by the captain and/or coach, FT's were awarded to the wrong player, therefore are unmerited and are correctable.

Re-shoot the "T" FT's, then line everybody up and shoot the foul shots.

I DON'T think you can take the results of the first two and apply them after the second two are shot. Please find in the rule book where it says that one.
__________________
No Brains.....No Headaches!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1