![]() |
|
|
|||
We kicked it. Did I do enough?
GV. 3rd quarter. I'm Lead. Team A has a try from the opposite side of the floor from me.
Ball hits up top (I'm eyeing rebounding action) caroms, tip, bat, scramble, bat (last bat by A1 knocks ball into back court. A2 recovers ball in back court. Partner calls backcourt violation. I get to my partner. "Partner, we had a try... did Team A have team control after the try?" He replies, "Yes, they had team control." Me, "you're sure?" Him, "yes". I go to the throw-in spot and bounce the ball to the thrower. After the game I tell him I think we kicked that one. He says that yeah, he guesses we did. If it was a critical moment in the game, I would have probably slowed him down more, maybe review the sequence of events and try to get the correct outcome. Any advice on language/techniques to get partner amenable to changing? Seems that in the moment he was committed to his call, and not eager to analyze.
__________________
-- #thereferee99 |
|
|||
You could have asked your partner if any player on team A held or dribbled the ball after the try and before it was batted into the backcourt. That would have given both of you a definitive answer.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Just a thought... if the ball was batted in an attempt to get the ball away from the defense or to a teammate, wouldn't that be considered a controlled pass?
We had this happen in my Boys Freshmen game on Wednesday. I'm trail, my partner's lead. A is offense, B is defense. Shot goes up, misses, players trying to rebound and eventually the ball gets to the floor and someone just batted the ball to the backcourt. I couldn't see who it was, as it was outside the lane opposite to me where my partner would have had the better view. Ball goes almost to the opposite endline and the A1 regained possession. Not having any clue if there was any absolute team control I didn't blow anything and left that up to my partner to call. He blew his whistle and called backcourt. We got together and I asked him what he saw as I couldn't see anything. He said that the ball was on the ground and during the "fight for the ball" A2 pushed the ball into the back court with one hand. I told him good call, as it was with intent to get it away from the opponents and to a teammate. |
|
|||
No different from a throw in by A in front court, ball touched by A1, rolls into backcourt, and picked up by A2 in BC The fans go nuts, but no BC violation.
You have to have front court control established for a BC violation to be called. This did not happen in this case...no violation. |
|
|||
Quote:
Might..... |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() 2) See #1. Wrong call by your partner and wrong interpretation of the rule by you.. |
|
|||
You can't pass the ball without player/team control though, which is why I always thought that if a player batted the ball in an attempt to "pass" it to a teammate, than you have team control.
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() 4.15 COMMENT: It is not possible for a player to travel during a dribble. A player is not dribbling while slapping the ball during a jump, when a pass rebounds from his/her hand, when he/she fumbles, or when he/she bats a rebound or pass away from other players who are attempting to get it. The player is not in control under these conditions. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by fullor30; Sat Jan 30, 2010 at 03:04pm. |
|
|||
But what else do you have to have? Team control. It doesn't sound as if there was team control.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Kicked it most likely... | Coltdoggs | Basketball | 7 | Mon Mar 03, 2008 01:03pm |
Help, I think we kicked one.... | roadking | Basketball | 14 | Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:10am |
I think I kicked it. | Hartsy | Basketball | 20 | Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:59am |
I know I kicked it..... | WeekendRef | Basketball | 17 | Wed Oct 13, 2004 05:13pm |
Kicked a T? | rainmaker | Basketball | 3 | Tue Dec 09, 2003 02:09am |