![]() |
|
|
|||
Thanks for the responses, everyone.
To be honest, I'm not sure if the TO was requested before the ball was stolen or not... I was on the the endline. So if the TO request happens before the steal, call the TO. If the TO request happens AFTER the steal and my partner blows his whistle for the TO, then we have an IW situation, correct? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Yes.
Quote:
5.8.3 situation E A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when: (a) the Team B head coach requests and is erroneously granted a time-out by an official: or (b) the Team A head coach is yelling "side out" offensive instructions to his/her team and the official stops play believing the coach requested a time-out. RULING: In (a), Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and granted: once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams. Play will resume with a Team A throw-in nearest to where play was stopped. In (b), and accidental whistle has occurred. Team A was not requesting a time-out and therefore, should not be granted or charged with one. Play is resumed at the point of interruption (4-36-1; 4-36-2a) Last edited by Clark Kent; Wed Jan 27, 2010 at 12:45pm. |
|
|||
Think Twice Coach.....
The other night, B15U Rec league. I'm T during foul shots.
A1 sinks last of two free-throws. As I move down the court to be the new L, B Coach says to me, "I want a timeout when the ball comes across half court." "You got it coach." As B1 dribbles to the Division Line he sees B2 along the end-line and throws a half-court pass to B2 about 10 feet from the basket. No one is between him and the basket...... TWEEEET! Time out, B! I know the coaches intent was - as soon as his player crossed the division line under pressure, but..... he requested it and it was granted.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
|
|||
Three distinct events:
1. Coach requests time out. 2. Official grants time out. 3. Official signals time out by blowing whistle. 3 always happens after 2, though the time lag varies. If I find myself in a situation where I hit the whistle as a steal is in progress, I tell the aggrieved coach "I'd already granted the time out request, coach." They hear the other coach's request, and they want that time out granted when their kid has the ball. I don't get much flak about it.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
I had a similar situation but I granted the timeout.
A1 gathers a loose ball near the division line and has possession. I am right next to the coach who starts yelling timeout. As I processed I was ready to grant the timeout A1 lost possession of the ball. By the time I blew the whistle the appearance was he lost control of the ball. But I granted the timeout (in my head) before this happened. Nobody complained either way. Some have to realize that just because the whistle is late doesn't mean the call is wrong (or blown). Officials are human to and immediately blowing the whistle for something isn't going to happen. |
|
|||
Quote:
I hope that you don't go back and put an extra two seconds on the clock to reflect the time between when you "granted" the time-out before the opponent stole the ball and when you sounded your whistle. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
As a matter of fact there's a time differential between deciding to grant a time out and putting air in your whistle. I'm talking a tenth of a second or less. The rules fail to address this gap. IMO, and in actual practice in my area, the time out should be granted when the team in possession loses the ball during that gap. FWIW, you have no rules backing for your opinion either. ![]()
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
I respectfully beg to differ, Mr. CumquatHead. Basketball Rules Fundamental #16: - "The official's whistle seldom causes the ball to become dead(it is already dead)." The ball was dead when the official granted the TO request. And golly-gee, I think that there's a rule that backs that statement up also: Rule 5-8-3:- "Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official GRANTS a player/head coach's oral or visual request for a time-out.." What happened after you granted the time-out is part of that time-out. Rules rulz!! Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Jan 28, 2010 at 11:08am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Inadvertent Timeout | jdmara | Basketball | 8 | Sun Feb 22, 2009 07:33pm |
Inadvertent Whistle Situation | rgncjn | Basketball | 4 | Sat Feb 07, 2009 11:33pm |
Inadvertent Timeout -- Situation II | Indy_Ref | Basketball | 1 | Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:23am |
inadvertent whistle | Redhouse | Basketball | 12 | Fri Feb 04, 2005 09:10pm |
Inadvertent Whistle...? | OFoley | Basketball | 2 | Fri Jan 28, 2000 06:47pm |