The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 10:45am
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
Timeout, inadvertent whistle situation

Happened to me in a game last night:

I'm the lead.
H makes a two-point shot.
V1 inbounds the ball to V2.
V HC requests a timeout. My partner glances at the coach, acknowledges the timeout request. At the same instant, H3 steals the ball from V2.
Partner blows his whistle for V's timeout, after the ball is clearly in H3's possession.

We end up not granting V's timeout request, and grant H a throw-in.

Two questions:
1) Did we screw this up?
2) After the inadvertent whistle, could V have been granted a timeout before H's throw-in?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,001
Why are you thinking of this as an IW? I think you guys kicked this one big time.

Remember that, in essence, it doesn't matter when you blow the whistle (it may look that way to the crowd and the other coach, but it doesn't matter). It matters when the timeout is requested.

If the coach requests the timeout when his team is in possession of the ball, you grant him the timeout, regardless of what happens inbetween the time you acknowledge his request and you put air in the whistle.

Just make sure that interval is as short as you can make it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 11:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 302
I agree with Fiasco. Grant the TO. You'll save yourself alot of hassle.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
to answer the rest

I agree with the posts above. Doesn't matter when it is granted it matters when it was requested....To answer the rest of the question, yes. Either team may be granted a timeout during a dead ball. So if you actually had had an IW then a timeout can be granted.
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post

Two questions:
1) Did we screw this up?
2) After the inadvertent whistle, could V have been granted a timeout before H's throw-in?
1) Yes, as stated by previous posters.
2) Could have and should have.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post
Happened to me in a game last night:

I'm the lead.
H makes a two-point shot.
V1 inbounds the ball to V2.
V HC requests a timeout. My partner glances at the coach, acknowledges the timeout request. At the same instant, H3 steals the ball from V2.
Partner blows his whistle for V's timeout, after the ball is clearly in H3's possession.

We end up not granting V's timeout request, and grant H a throw-in.

Two questions:
1) Did we screw this up?
2) After the inadvertent whistle, could V have been granted a timeout before H's throw-in?
I've had this exact thing happen, grant the time out, tell the Hcoach that you saw the request before the steal and that's it. H coach of course is not going to like it, but I expect that. V gets ball after time out.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 11:13am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post
Happened to me in a game last night:

I'm the lead.
H makes a two-point shot.
V1 inbounds the ball to V2.
V HC requests a timeout. My partner glances at the coach, acknowledges the timeout request. At the same instant, H3 steals the ball from V2.
Partner blows his whistle for V's timeout, after the ball is clearly in H3's possession.

We end up not granting V's timeout request, and grant H a throw-in.

Two questions:
1) Did we screw this up?
2) After the inadvertent whistle, could V have been granted a timeout before H's throw-in?
Once he blew the whistle and killed the play the TO is granted. I'll leave who should get the ball to your collective judgement. But not granting the time-out was incorrect.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 11:15am
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
Thanks for the responses, everyone.

To be honest, I'm not sure if the TO was requested before the ball was stolen or not... I was on the the endline.

So if the TO request happens before the steal, call the TO.

If the TO request happens AFTER the steal and my partner blows his whistle for the TO, then we have an IW situation, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 11:32am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post
Thanks for the responses, everyone.

To be honest, I'm not sure if the TO was requested before the ball was stolen or not... I was on the the endline.

So if the TO request happens before the steal, call the TO.

If the TO request happens AFTER the steal and my partner blows his whistle for the TO, then we have an IW situation, correct?
You have not read all the responses if your are still asking this question.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 12:17pm
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
Yep, I missed a couple of responses while I was typing my first reply. (*facepalm*)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post
So if the TO request happens before the steal, call the TO.
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post
If the TO request happens AFTER the steal and my partner blows his whistle for the TO, then we have an IW situation, correct?
No

5.8.3 situation E

A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when: (a) the Team B head coach requests and is erroneously granted a time-out by an official: or (b) the Team A head coach is yelling "side out" offensive instructions to his/her team and the official stops play believing the coach requested a time-out.

RULING:
In (a), Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and granted: once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams. Play will resume with a Team A throw-in nearest to where play was stopped.

In (b), and accidental whistle has occurred. Team A was not requesting a time-out and therefore, should not be granted or charged with one. Play is resumed at the point of interruption (4-36-1; 4-36-2a)

Last edited by Clark Kent; Wed Jan 27, 2010 at 12:45pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 12:56pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,643
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Think Twice Coach.....

The other night, B15U Rec league. I'm T during foul shots.

A1 sinks last of two free-throws. As I move down the court to be the new L, B Coach says to me, "I want a timeout when the ball comes across half court."

"You got it coach."

As B1 dribbles to the Division Line he sees B2 along the end-line and throws a half-court pass to B2 about 10 feet from the basket. No one is between him and the basket......

TWEEEET! Time out, B!

I know the coaches intent was - as soon as his player crossed the division line under pressure, but..... he requested it and it was granted.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Three distinct events:
1. Coach requests time out.
2. Official grants time out.
3. Official signals time out by blowing whistle.

3 always happens after 2, though the time lag varies. If I find myself in a situation where I hit the whistle as a steal is in progress, I tell the aggrieved coach "I'd already granted the time out request, coach."

They hear the other coach's request, and they want that time out granted when their kid has the ball. I don't get much flak about it.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 02:07pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,730
I've noticed a serious amount of whining about this from "aggrieved" coaches the last couple of weeks. Loose ball situation, kid retrieves ball on the ground, coach quickly requests time, we grant it.

Coach either claims the ball was loose or tied up and we shouldn't have granted it.

Personally, I don't care and expect the whining, but so much focus on a second quarter possession makes no sense to me. Why waste the timeout? Why waste breath wanting to argue something like this?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 03:21pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
I've noticed a serious amount of whining about this from "aggrieved" coaches the last couple of weeks. Loose ball situation, kid retrieves ball on the ground, coach quickly requests time, we grant it.

Coach either claims the ball was loose or tied up and we shouldn't have granted it.

Personally, I don't care and expect the whining, but so much focus on a second quarter possession makes no sense to me. Why waste the timeout? Why waste breath wanting to argue something like this?
Like when an NFL calls a time-out to avoid a DOG penalty on 3rd and 13?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inadvertent Timeout jdmara Basketball 8 Sun Feb 22, 2009 07:33pm
Inadvertent Whistle Situation rgncjn Basketball 4 Sat Feb 07, 2009 11:33pm
Inadvertent Timeout -- Situation II Indy_Ref Basketball 1 Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:23am
inadvertent whistle Redhouse Basketball 12 Fri Feb 04, 2005 09:10pm
Inadvertent Whistle...? OFoley Basketball 2 Fri Jan 28, 2000 06:47pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1